"The Coming Famine" - The Beginning of An Incredible Journey: How Global Food (In)Security Changed My Life Forever

in #foodsecurity7 years ago

Greetings Steemit Community!

My name is Tim Goltz and I'm so glad that Jeff Berwick's blog (https://dollarvigilante.com/blog) directed me to this incredible opportunity to create value for a community and actually get paid something for it!

Back in 2011, I ran across a provocative-sounding book called, "The Coming Famine: The Global Food Crisis and What We Can Do to Avoid It," by investigative journalist Julian Cribb.

Little did I realize, at that time, that it would change my life, allowing me to make meaningful, sustainable contributions to food security issues in some of the most amazing places around the world.

This new blog intends to relate my (decidedly) international personal and business stories that began several years ago and now consumes my life (in a most excellent way)! This will be a story about the brave new world of food security technologies seen through my own eyes as one humble participant in the white-hot ag-tech/food security space.

The story really started a few years prior, as I was doing some management consulting for a small start-up aquaponics company (more on aquaponics later) just outside of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The start-up at the time was trying to grow its nutraceutical plants (echinacia - used as an anti-viral and immunobooster and rhodiola - a concentration enhancer) faster by growing them by way of aquaponics. The very moment I came across The Coming Famine, I just knew that the start-up should shift gears and start growing commercial quantities of food.

At this time, I was invited to an early meeting of the start-up's Board of Directors. The meeting was to set the direction of the company for the coming year(s). I had purchased copies of the book for each of the Directors and distributed the books to each of them at the meeting. Suffice it to say, as of that hot August day back in 2011, the start-up (now called NutraPonics Canada Corporation http://www.nutraponics.ca/) changed direction from growing nutraceuticals to leafy greens, herbs and microgreens, with a view to bring food security to some of the harshest communities around the world, but beginning domestically in Canada.

I can't wait to share my ongoing story with the Community here!

My next post will describe how NutraPonics is advancing aquaponics as a high-tech, indoor, vertical food security solution.

Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @foodsecurity :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome Tim, I was lead here by Jeff Berwick also through his You tube channel. Followed and up voted. I look forward to seeing more of your posts here.

Welcome to Steem @foodsecurity I have sent you a tip

followed & upvoted. hope u will do the same..@mohit
Have a good day :)