Travelling to Chile

in #fort-galt8 years ago

A crypto friendly investment

I will be traveling to Chile in a couple of weeks to check out using crypto to invest in a living/working situation along with other free-thinking voluntaryists.

A Crowd sourced Intentional Community for Entrepreneurs and Freelancers
Set on the beautiful Pacific coastline by Valdivia, Chile, Fort Galt is the
ideal setting for your new vacation home, workplace, or permanent residence abroad
http://www.fortgalt.com

Sort:  

I visited earlier this year, and it's a great area. The growing environment is great for year-round gardening (an interest of a number of Fort participants). With the land available around the project, it has the potential to become into a really sweet eco-maker-village community!

I've been involved for a while, and am working on creating a robust IT infrastructure for the Fort, including a virtualized environment for testing DAO projects.

Much fun awaits!

Great initiative, and nice to know you are getting involved.
We'll be pretty close, if you plan to come to Buenos Aires, please be our guest.

It would also be a great incentive to organize a Graphene/BitShares Meetup at the Embassy, you could give a talk if you want, or just assist an know our community, take some beers and know the city.

Cheers.

You are very kind. But I am only in Chile for 5 days on this trip. Next time for sure!

That's awesome @onceuponatime - I am huge into sustainable living myself, I see IC's popping up all over the Earth now. Fort Galt looks very promising and it's great to hear that they are crypto-friendly too.. Have a great time! :)

What's the tax landscape look like in Chile? And how long can a PT stay there in a given year?

When you land in Santiago, you get a 3-month tourist visa. After that, you can have it extended for another 3-months, which costs about a hundred bucks, or you can take a day-trip to Argentina and re-enter Chile to reset the clock. You can repeat this indefinitely, until you happen to get a cranky immigration officer that feels like turning you away. The tax climate is good for owning property (undeveloped rural land often has 0% property tax) but I wouldn't bother applying for citizenship because the personal income tax punishes productive people. As a resident, I keep my declared personal income bellow the tax threshold and write-off everything under the sun as a business expense. If you want a second passport that wont subject you to an income tax, I'd recommend nearby Paraguay for that.

Very interesting project. Too bad that this is the first thing that comes to my mind when I think about Chile :/

Oh great, they're located right at the town the earthquake was named after, Valdivia. No thanks, I'm out.

The quake of 1960 let all the tectonic pressure off. It's now more more safe than the US west coast.

Right, I found that too. The next "big" one is expected to happen in the north, Valdivia seems safe for now.