weee3eee are here!!

in #fostercare6 years ago (edited)

I am a IT Tech support guy who also plays some poker. I am an adoptive father of three boys from foster care. My passion is Foster Care. There are a ton of children that need to be adopted out of the sucky foster care system we have here in US. I am excited to meet this community.

Sort:  

It's so amazing how a guy like you could adopt 3 kids and serve as their father for the meantime. That passion you have really touched my heart keep it up and more power to you. =)

This post has been upvoted and resteemed. I also started following you to see more!

My passion is the foster care system as well. I hope to see, in the near future, that child protective services, along with foster families, will work to support families to stay together. I appreciate saying that there are a ton of children that need to be adopted out, but what are we doing as a society to help the families stay together? To foster a behavioral change to help? I hope you continue to write about your experiences. You are appreciated and needed in our communities!

I am so happy you are looking in the direction in foster care for the ultimate goal is reunification. There is a problem with the system, yes. I agree 100%. The goal is that no child should even have to go into the foster care system in the first place, right? I believe that however is not going to happen.

How can it be fixed? You and I and this community could go with every idea imaginable and it would never get solved unfortunately.

The thing that could bring change to the system is quality care of children while in the system. The families themselves can make this change and the ultimate goal to make this change? The families partner with the birth families together for reunification and if that isn’t possible adoption to either the foster family or look for an adoptive family with a good fit. It’s a huge investment of time, dedication and love but the system is messed up but we can make the difference in spur of a system.

There off my soap box. Haha.

I like the soap box you are standing on!!! Great views on working to change the system. Happy Steeming!