It's The End Of The World, I Broke My Foot!

in #fracture6 years ago

So I was out with a friend a couple weeks ago, I got drunk with her and apparently at some point that night I fell down but I don't remember. The next morning when I woke up I was in excruciating pain when stepping with my right foot. I spent the following week hobbling around for short distances before finally getting my foot looked at. When I finally made it into the doctors I was diagnosed as having a closed displaced fracture of the cuboid. This was considered a rare bone to break and it was also the first bone I have ever broken.

I was given crutches and a medical boot for my foot. I was told that I could not bear any weight on my foot. The crutches have been a challenge because I don't have a lot of upper body strength to carry the weight of my body. When using the crutches I move ridiculously slow and going up and down stairs is impossible. When going out many places have stairs and no ramps to get in (though I thought it was against the law to not have handicap access at an establishment). I can't carry anything in my hands like a purse for instance with the crutches so anything I need to bring out with me I put in my pockets. I can't go very far on crutches, so I'm unable to go down the street to the grocery store to get food or get a coffee at Starbucks, even if I could make it that far I wouldn't have the hands to pick up the coffee or bags of food.

Around the house I'll crawl from room to room to avoid using the crutches. My hands are forming calluses from the crutches and my armpits are a little sore as well. My knees also hurt from crawling around on them. Due to my mobility issues I spend my days mostly laying on the couch with my boot on while going on the internet. Doing anything around the house is a challenge. My husband does everything for me.

This misery is supposed to last about six weeks if all goes well. I estimate it will be around February 21st when I'll be all healed up and be able to walk on my foot again. In the meantime I plan to get a knee scooter soon when I can afford it. They go for about $150 so they luckily aren't too pricey. This will improve my mobility as it's easier to use than crutches, and I'll have a little basket in the front of the scooter to carry things in. If I want to go down the street I'll be able to get coffee and groceries no problem. This will be a huge life improvement for the weeks to come.

For anyone out there who is suffering from an injury or whose mobility is affected I hear ya! Cheers to healing!

Sort:  

best wishes for a complete recovery

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it!