personal rememberances... Learning NCurses - FreeBSD - Linux - The Scattered Reclaimed

in #freebsd3 years ago (edited)

IMG_0056.jpg
Resources used

NCURSES Programming HOWTO

Ncurses Programming Guide

NCURSES Extended Characters Quick Reference Charts and Screen Layout Chart

these have been essential in helping me write a little problem using ncurses.

have always loved using graphical interfaces, I hope to bring a driveSetup program that is similiar gparted, to the terminal in freeBSD.

typing commands is boring, spending 100+ hours writing a program to do it for me? pricessless... ? lol I love it.

time saved ? -95 hours. lol God I love life. jokes like these, but then If I think of all the time I save you!

+99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 hours and counting ( if I am successful )

ok, now it is worth it.

I love you guys.


Relearning C++ has been interesting.

Beautiful language that at once drives you crazy and later you find you greatest friend and ally. There is nothing beyond what needs to be done that can be done and in all languages most things are possible. C++ is such a language that all things are possible. There is very little it can't do, and I think that is limited to its own creation.

Someone has to write the C++/C compiler. now I am lazy, nothing I do has significatant reason to choose c or c++. now the reason you would care is size. c is smaller...

Advantages of C over C++ Major parts of popular operating systems like Windows,UNIX, Linux are still written in C.

this is incredible, in a way. but also what ain't broke, don't fix.

unless you are bored, and need something to do. people recreate the wheel all the time. I keep seeing projects in languages that exist simply to replicate something else in a new language.

seems they have fun doing it!

problems with c++

from reading this.. I gather you can make serious mess of the readability of code, basically this language can be used deceptively as inserting one file with changes to an operators function would change the entire meaning of code everywhere. Or it means that you can change one file and completely, and incredibly, alter every ">>"" or "<<"" operation in a way that benefited you to include debugging output.

so a "problem" is a feature.

most of what I have been relearning was using structs and linked lists. having had much experience in the past, that has been enjoyable to see it again.


FreeBSD vs Linux

not really a debate.

I like freeBSD now for what I see is an easier, and better organized operating system. I see a better future for it than what I now see for linux as every corporation has a finger in that pie.

but Linux works better on my system, without a doubt the winner in stability .. if I need a graphics card.

and God Bless it. I still use one.. freeBSD does a good job with it.. but no .. no it doesn't. it likes to crash (video card.. maybe once a day.. or my motherboard.. which linux no longer wants to play audio thru front channel.. so... crashes may be that..) . but.. that has got me to want resilient programs that are like working on the android..

the android programming guide requires your programs maintain a state in which it is prepared to be closed at anytime.

this means you aren't guaranteed anything. (user could close your app at anytime)

just like life .. lol

the android programs are resilient because of this. and I have found that falkon web browser, for example, handles crashes very well. I restart it, I return to where I was.

I live with the crashes because crashing doesn't hurt that much.. and the speed up to the crash..

oh THE SPEED.

the responsiveness.. feels like 50% faster than linux (is that possible? i doubt it, but hey it feels faster)

it boots faster, it loads x faster. and I can watch my boot process and UNDERSTAND IT. i've been watching linux boot process for years and FUCK if i can follow it.. seems gibberishy.. ..

ok it just seeems FreeBSD has a much more refined and easiery to understand boot process.

I love linux, I really do, I get frustrated sometimes watch out! but I am feeling the switch to BSD .. and I am loving all the flavors.. perhaps netBSD best.. if it would support my video card and have a better installer! somehow I always nearly delete the wrong drive with netBSD .. something about how they rename their drives and their driveSetup doesn't work for me. but I have gotten it work. I think on a single disk setup it is very easy. biggest program doesn't like any of the video cards I have.

My thoughts on some things, my record for later since I am still working with Ncurses, it is nice to refer to this here.

Makes me wonder how I can created a personal space, a home page, that is more than we have now.

peace, love, joy -> seed happiness

in joy you will do wonderful things

may you find love in all you do

and peace in your heart grows

still o perfect world

Sort:  

I think all this studying is great , we never stop learning ! Have a great tuesday

Congratulations @klevn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very nice photo between sky, sun and water