You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Firefox Quantum - reclaim your internet!

in #freedom7 years ago

I was thinking about the Brave again. I had played around with the code and whenever possible I compile the tools myself as I feel thats gives a better sense of security and possibly speed. May be we need to raise bugs about the missing fine tuning aspects. For example the ones I raised were quite silly! see:

2017-11-15_16-42-10.png

Few points that I am skeptical about are

  1. Its based on Electron. I have found that the Electron apps - atom, slack, rocket.chat etc are taking too much of memory and I moved to web based versions etc.
  2. Brave is using too many npm/node packages. Unlike say Debian packages, the npm packages AFIK are not properly authenticated. I am not 100% sure about this but this makes me little paranoid about entering passwords etc. From Brave's PoV though I think these are brave and practical decisions as it helps them to reach the MVP phase sooner.

I was not aware of the availability of mobile versions. Will revisit the platform to understand more. Appreciate the inputs.

Sort:  

The bugs do look silly.
"From Brave's PoV though I think these are brave and practical decisions as it helps them to reach the MVP phase sooner."
-I believe the above statement describe the situation well.

Brendan Eich designed JavaScript. So he may favor anything that involve JS. I'm not a programmer. I haven't entered any important passwords on Brave. I'm still waiting and may not migrate for another ~6 months.

I haven't looked at the code. But the front end works well for Android. The UX is good. Nothing mind blowing. But I'm very satisfied with the browser. BAT seems to be interested in securing partnerships and getting things running first and I think that's a good pick. They take their time to release features for the less fault tolerant mobile crowd which is a wise move.

As an investor I'm very positive and team has a proven track record. Their main point is BAT and Brave does take a second row seat. But they'll fix things up well after they get their Ad system fully functional.

tried Brave again and raised a bug regarding energy usage FYI : https://github.com/brave/browser-laptop/issues/12022