Celebrating Independence

in #freedom3 years ago

Celebrating Independence means different things to different people - and at different times in their lives. Some celebrate financial independence from their parents when they get their first "real job" after completing school. Others celebrate freedom from oppression by the government - current or historical.

Today marks the 245th Independence Day in the United States of America.

I am a proud citizen of my country. We have so many freedoms and benefits that are not available elsewhere. While life here is not perfect, I wouldn't want to live anywhere else at this point in my life.

Regardless of political leaning, as a citizen of your country, we should all feel lucky enough to feel this way:

"If tomorrow all the things were gone I'd worked for all my life
And I had to start again with just my children and my wife
I'd thank my lucky stars to be living here today
'Cause the flag still stands for freedom and they can't take that away

And I'm proud to be an American, where at least I know I'm free
And I won't forget the men who died, who gave that right to me
And I'd gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today
'Cause there ain't no doubt I love this land! God bless the U.S.A.

From the lakes of Minnesota, to the hills of Tennessee
Across the plains of Texas, from sea to shining sea

From Detroit down to Houston and New York to LA
Well, there's pride in every American heart
And it's time we stand and say:

I'm proud to be an American where at least I know I'm free
And I won't forget the men who died, who gave that right to me
And I'd gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today
'Cause there ain't no doubt I love this land! God bless the U.S.A."

  • Lee Greenwood - God Bless the U.S.A.

Whatever independence you are working towards, or celebrating, I hope that you all had a great day!