What are the boundaries of freedom?

in #freedom8 years ago (edited)

This being my first Steem post I wanted to touch something fundamental
Steem is certainly a innovative merge of the trends of our time - the cryptocurrency, the social media and the hyped block-chain technology. A way of sharing in more than one way.
Many of us are aware of the upcoming collapse of the financial system as we know it and we are looking to maximize our independence in order to avoid the effects of this. Many countries are now moving fast forward to a cashless monetary system where all financial transactions are made via bank controlled online systems.
And at first it might seem to be a good idea, after all many people live their lives online already. I think the main problem is the centralization of the control of the economic system and therefore the decentralized, block-chain based currencies seem a great alternative. Especially to those of us that are seeking freedom - and we do it right here - online.
But me being and old school guy, I still have some doubts and my concern. I’m far from being a technophobe but what if? What if the online framework - the internet - is controllable by the same small group of people - those we already know to be running the show. Then potentially they could turn the of switch to the framework and all our freedom is...
Not being paranoid here, all I say is that maybe a balanced off- and online strategy is a smart move. Try the idea out for size - a scenario where your future life would be off-grid entirely. How would you minimize the effects of that scenario - and are you as prepared for that as you are in the digital freedom?
I am all in for Steem, but I have a plan B, just in case :)