Freedom you say?

in #freedom2 years ago

So how was the start of living the ultimate dream of freedom?

20210723_130928.jpg

You may ask, what do you understand by freedom? Well, for me it is the possibility of not being restricted by any outside force and having the possibility to do what one wants when one wants, meaning, not only that I can eat what I want when I want or watch a movie I want when I want but also that if I decide to take holidays for three weeks no employer or anyone can stop me from doing so and of course the freedom of travelling wherever I want. It has always been hard for me to understand and accept that one cannot travel because a job won’t let them. Especially for someone who lives far away from their family. I’ve met people who haven’t been to their home country for many years because they just aren’t allowed to take more than two weeks of holidays at work…I couldn’t accept that. That just simply didn’t make any sense to me. Are we sacrificing our freedom to a job where we are so easily replaceable? Yes, I get it, the job pays our bills, without a job we wouldn’t be able to afford a roof above our heads, pay for our favourite memberships, schools for children, food, etc…It’s cool if one is the boss of their own time and can manage their own time. Don’t take me wrong though. I was happy with my job. Teaching is a fulfilling profession and in Uruguay, they have 3 months summer holiday! So, with all the holidays throughout the school year and then 3 months of holiday in a row, I had nothing to complain about. Just the salary, since I was paid per hour, meaning that I didn’t receive any salary during any holidays. Hehe

20191127_100025.jpg

Anyway, as always, all my free time at my job wasn’t enough for me…which is not the right way to look at it. I should appreciate such an opportunity and as I said, the job was nice. Many many people have far fewer days off during the year and are much more confined to their working desks. But it’s not about who’s got what and who is in the better situation. Life is not about comparing with others.
I felt for myself, that just wasn’t it. And since we live in the times of “pursuing your dreams”, and “fulfilling your purpose”, I obviously had to follow the trend.
However, it is important not to forget that happiness comes from within. So, doesn’t matter where one is or who one is with. If one is not happy with themselves and within themselves, they are just simply not happy.
So, once again, I was very grateful and loved the place I lived in, my surroundings, the mesmerizing sunrises and beach walks, the inspiring job and the great work team. I was happy and knew that I just need something a little bit different, so when I look back 20 years later I don’t feel like I lost a chance at doing something truly meaningful to me.
Freedom of mind is the most important form of freedom out of all and yet the most difficult to maintain. Even though it’s just and only us managing it.

IMG-20191204-WA0023.jpg

The question was simple: what are my values, what is it that I long for and that I desire so much?
Values and desires – freedom, travel, my dog, my personal growth; living something different, extraordinary so when my last day on Earth comes, I can smile.

20211218_120145.jpg

But how to achieve it? Well, what’s been working for me is living and travelling in a motorhome. I decide where to be when (unless the engine breaks, hehe), what to do where. I work remotely and give English workshops at English institutes about living as a nomad. I can’t imagine living differently, at least for now.
I miss some of my friends and it gets difficult when the family is so far away (yes, the full freedom of travelling literally wherever and whenever I want is still limited due to lack of finances). But I wouldn’t change it for anything. There is no way back. Nomad life it is.
But that doesn’t mean that suddenly all has been solved, I feel fulfilled and that’s it. My lifestyle fulfills me. I do feel like I’m on the right path, which is something I wasn’t so sure of when living in a static place. But this is just the beginning of a journey.
A journey so meaningful to me that I even find it worth writing about, haha. :)