Caged by Freedom - How to Escape through Structure and Purpose

in #freedom6 years ago

I just realized how important a steady morning routine is. More than that how much joy and freedom a daily structure can give. It seems paradoxical at first sight. How can structure make one free? Let's elaborate.

Let's assume you are one of the few rare individuals who figured out, at least in a vague way, what you want out of life. Maybe it's mostly a state of being, maybe you focus on your family life or maybe you have a certain career goal.  In a nutshell you have an idea of what fuels you. 

Most of things we aim to accomplish are not to be realized instantaneously. I even tend to assume that what gives you the greatest sense of satisfaction and accomplishment is usually something you had to work persistently and patiently towards. Achieving a milestone you long wished to achieve, can give you an enormous sense of relief and aliveness. Yeah, let's call it aliveness for now. You're finally handing in your final exam, you're finally standing on the stage you've been dreaming of, you're finally done with the book you have always wanted to write. Moments like these fill up you're current physical experience called life with joy, pride and - here it comes - freedom. 

Freedom is not just to do whatever you want to do at any given moment. Freedom also means to make a check in you're daily, weekly, monthly or even yearly check list. In other words it's the freedom from a task. Every time you make that check you combine purpose with freedom which is a magical combination!

For the longest time I wandered through life with a lack of purpose and direction. I was caged by my strive for unlimited freedom. I know... Another phrase that seems to be a paradox. But once again, only at first glance. The freedom lifestyle turned - at least in my case - into a veritable obsession. 

I wasn't able to commit. 

I built bridges and burnt them down again. 

Went from one place to another before I could get rooted. 

I made great friendships only to disconnect and leave again shortly thereafter. 

I had to. 

Because I wanted to be free. 

I was obsessed with freedom. 

I was caged by freedom. 

But then something changed. I came to realize what I wanted my legacy to be about. And I realized that it would take a lot of effort, a lot of work and a lot of energy. However my obsession with freedom resulted in regular distractions and, as a consequence, a repetitive deviation from the path towards my life's goals. And I found myself a year later thinking:

"What have I really accomplished?"

"What could I have accomplished if didn't get distracted by all the things that don't serve my mission?"

"What could I have accomplished if I had a clear structure from the get-go?" 

Well, let's just say I could have been way further on my path towards my life's goals.

Structure can give you stability and it can free you from all of the distractions that neither serve your mission nor contribute to your well-being right now. There's another novel and nice ring to the term 'freedom', ey?

I choose to be free from my obsession to be free all the time.

I choose to combine purpose with freedom from the smallest tasks.

I choose to live freely from all unnecessary distractions.