Easy Freegan - Whats He Found Now?!

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday morning, I had to go past the Organic food shop again and thought to get the usual coconut water, and of course the real reason to go in.. To go look what was in their trash cart before it goes to the dumpster at 15.00, and then it gets crushed into a huge metal container.


Welcome to a day in the life of me (at the moment). Im in the richest country in the world to claim back gold and jewels that were stolen from the churches of England by the vikings earlier in time. nah only joking! I came here to see a friend but I arrived as they were leaving to go travelling, but I didnt know what to do so I just stayed here in Oslo. Why not, im not in a rush to be somewhere else!

I did a post the other day trying to show what is being considered as trash in richer countrys and how it is for an adverage day for me in a city since leaving society 8 years ago.. I named it A Day In The Life OF a Land Pirate and recently one about a great example of where I get good free food from and help out with the environment at the same time from this same place titled Yesterdays Loot.

To the untrained eye, its just a trolley full of cardboard..

There was a new worker working in the shop serving some customers and so I just went to the trash cart. First I was happy to see that there was garlic there, if its not good to eat then it can be re-grown. Here's the last find a few days ago from the same place. Organic shops are great to recycle from, 90 % of the time the people who work there are much more aware and open to letting someone use something that was labelled as waste, instead of thinking and sometimes saying - "That's our trash, not yours!" Then I dig a bit deeper- and here's *the way* how to find food in a dumpster, you have to take stuff out because the food is at the bottom! I found an unopened box first that was heavy, after a rip it turned out to be cold/pressed pure ginger shots, very healthy.


And then 2 packets of something ive never heard of but its a sweetener, dried and powdered fruit from the Lucuma Tree tree (thats all I know at the moment!) oh and its from Peru. Fuck it, wait a minute and ill open it to taste it! Ha- a puff of dust came up into my nose and mouth and it reminds me of that horrible taste of Mescaline.. Burr! Oh ok, I dont know what this can be used for its not sweet really, definatly not meant to eat raw!

This is dried and powdered and it is sealed in high grade packaging that is even air-tight but still it has an expiry date , disgusting. Its so disgusting that we all know that wine gets better with age and the older the wine, the more its worth right?

WHY DOES WINE HAVE A SELL-BY-DATE AND GET PUT IN TRASH THEN?!

I just had an idea as to not create such a short post and so here is examples of the dry foods that I have got from not only this shop but various others on random occasions, all this stuff will keep years actually..

There is Sushi Rice, Coffee Beans, flour, Oats and Chia Seeds.

The coffee beans were a great find, one day I was walking up a street and saw 2 men emptying out a coffee bar. I said to them, " oh your moving shop now?" and one said "oh no, where just tidying up". There was 10 x 2.5kg packets of coffee beans one month out of date, so many plates, cups, saucers, teaspoons, coffee peculators.. I wish I had a Car. Really. I took 5 bags of coffee in my rucksack and also one of these cool tea kettles for the wood oven Below, which was new in the box. I gave all the coffee away and this is the last bag, will proberbly give it soon to the neighbour who we get electric from, she loved the last time I gave her a bag, she said "This costs so much money" and I said, "I dont know, its from the trash!"

Well that's it for the recent Freegan Findings. Go and check whats in your local store out the back in the trash!

I just had the idea for a cool contest to get people to try this way of recycling..

Take pictures and make a good article about your mission, mention @movingman and I will give 3 SBD for people who have never done this before and are willing to go give it a try, asking in shops if they would let you take their waste that's still edible, and for people who document an actual dumpster-diving mission will get more than 5SBD depending on effort applied and the cost price of the found loot!. I will do an "official" contest announcement for this soon and the contest will be open for 3 days only.

Heres The Official Post for the competition

How does that sound?! Id love to hear thoughts!

Thanks!



Sort:  

Resteemed to over 17800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO is open now for 4 rounds in 4 weeks.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Lucuma powder is a dried fruit powder from Peru - natural sweetener. Add some to cocao pwder with some cinnamon and warm milk for a nice hot chocolate. I am sure it could be added to baking but have never tried.
Good on you for finding such treasures, quite often the dates on these products are only best before dates, not - I will instantly turn rotten on this date ...
Thanks for sharing 😀

Cool thanks for the advice, I have some hot cocoa aswell! Im a sugar nazi so also so alternative sweetners are good although im not really getting sugar cravings at all really these days :) I think it can be used for backing, it did have some kind of wierd sweet after tast after the initial Burr haha

Good articles thanks for sharing

Nice work, I love lacuma powder and it's expensive, don't see how it needs a sell by! It's a powder craziness