You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Libertarian Anarchists are Modern Day Abolitionists

in #freedom6 years ago

As you pointed out towards the end, democracy seems to further what you are labeling slavery. You see it even on a smaller scale with the homeowner associations. Given the way human nature is, it appears the majority can always rationalize taking from their neighbors sweat if it is for a cause they align with, even if it is an outright selfish cause.

It is because of this I question whether the ideas of libertarians could ever be mainstream. It is comforting to most to have others do the planning, thinking for them and truthfully the public education system (in the U.S.) is not designed to create free thinkers who cherish true independence. But not many would when they are not given the skills to be independent.

I will admit I am perplexed as to what the solution could be as far as returning to this, but a nice write up that is sure to appeal to all who desire real freedom. Thank you.

Sort:  

I appreciate your thoughts and your kind words :)

While I have my significant doubts as to the practical prospects of seeing libertarian ideas becoming mainstream, I don't really have a problem with hierarchy as long as that hierarchy is voluntary. Perhaps I am conflating dependence with hierarchy, but for me the voluntariness is the crucial question.

I think coercion or taking from the few to give to the many is just the main driver of this culture of dependency. If you look at the effects of artificial bank credit expansion brought about by the artificial lowering of interest rates and proliferation of cheap credit, I think that has had a gigantic affect on cultural time preference.