You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UK Highway Code: New road rule could see car 'passengers' hit with £1,000 fine

in #freedom2 years ago

Long journeys are tedious in the car and I'd welcome it taking over at least on the motorway. I know some people will do 100mph when they think they can get away with it. Of course they think they are great drivers, but they have little time to react. I wonder if there will be lower speed limits to reduce fuel consumption as the US did years ago. I get that some people drive for fun, but it's mainly about transport and every accident is expensive to deal with. It will be interesting to see how much people fight against further restrictions.

Sort:  

The max speed limit in the U.S. used to be 55 MPH to save fuel. I think that restriction started in the 1970s and ended some time in the 1990s. I'm not sure what the ideal speed is for fuel efficiency these days. Seems like they would do better to make smarter traffic lights. However, the plan in the U.S. seems to be to force people to buy electric cars. Several states have banned the sale of gas cars starting in 2035. I just had to buy a car and wouldn't have minded an electric car if they weren't so overpriced (I mean even more overpriced than gas cars currently are).