You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Freelance Doesn't Mean You're Not Employed

in #freelance7 years ago

I'm in an in-between kind of situation. I take freelance jobs because writing is easy for me, I have a fucking degree in it, and I kind of enjoy doing it. I also have a website where I hock certain services to the locals, who call and book said services. Minute-for-minute I make just as much on the web as I do in real life. But fuck, I hate computers and doing work on them. I'd rather dig you a fucking ditch than write you an article or web copy. At least at the end of the day I can point to the ditch and the salt on my skin and say "I did something today." When I write, I don't get that feeling. We live in a global freelance economy though. It might not be like it was, and maybe it was better back then, but this is what we have to work with TODAY. Lots of people out there aren't really working at it. They think the world is as it was, which it's not. Jobs are a joke. Make your own damned money anywhichway you know how.

Sort:  

Well I'd say this also helps to showcase a point of freelancing allowing you freedom. It gives you the chance to be able to go out and dig a ditch if that's what you so choose. I hope you find something that you truly enjoy!