three free ways to invest, all somewhat questionable

in #freemoney5 years ago

first, Initiative Q, it's been around over a year already and it's still at least 2 years away from having any value, but they seem to be well-funded and staffed to take it forward. their sales pitch:

"Initiative Q is an attempt by ex-PayPal guys to create a new payment system instead of payment cards that were designed in the 1950s. The system uses its own currency, the Q, and to get people to start using the system once it's ready they are allocating Qs for free to people that sign up now (the amount drops as more people join - so better to join early). Signing up is free and they only ask for your name and an email address. There's nothing to lose but if this payment system becomes a world leading payment method your Qs can be worth a lot. If you missed getting bitcoin seven years ago, you wouldn't want to miss this."

my invite link: https://initiativeq.com/invite/Bxwfw_y3Q

this link will stop working once I’m out of invites. let me know after you registered, because I need to verify you on my end. I'll need to know your real name, the one you used when you signed up. if you used a pseudonym, both your and my accounts could be flagged and closed. so I'm not taking any chances.

second, Pi Network. it's a mobile app that generates Pi coins without using a lot of CPU. the coins have no market value, and may never have, but the plan is to create a worldwide, decentralized payment system.

my referral code for that is: https://minepi.com/jcomeauictx

third, RobinHood. this is the dodgiest in my opinion, but you get, within a few hours of signing up, a free stock worth up to $200. mine was TROX, worth about $9.50, which is probably more typical.

the scary thing is, as you're signing up, they ask for your bank login and password info! I don't know about you, but to me that signals SCAM in big block letters! however, after my 2nd friend encouraged me, I skipped that part, confirmed my email address, and got my free stock without having to give them any banking info. and it later turned out that, if you want to add funds to your account and don't feel comfortable sharing your bank login credentials, you can choose a bank they don't recognize and they'll use the standard method of making two small deposits and have you verify them. you still might want to use an account you don't use for anything else, and fund only with money you can afford to lose.

my referral link is https://invite.robinhood.com/johnc9928