Sort:  

100?! What is the point in living!

If you pass out in the sun and sleep from dawn to dusk shirtless, your skin will burn very badly.

Do they sell sunscreen in Finland? serious question!

Of course, they do.

Where I live, the highest solar angle of the year is about 90-61+23 = 52 degrees.

The percentage of the radiation intensity of sun is then sin(90) ~ 0.79 or 79% of that on the equator at midday (during the equinoxes [on the equator, the radiation maximums are never achieved at the same time on the 61th latitude and the equator]). The average daily maximum temperature in July where I live is slightly warmer than that of London, UK, which means people will be spending a lot of time at the beaches particularly during the hot spells. So, yes, sunscreen is necessary particularly for small children.

Thanks for the info. So it's pretty essential for a few weeks a year, and then you can stick it in the cupboard for next time.

I've never owned anything over factor 30, but try not to spend more than an hour in the sun in the summer - in Spain that is, UK is no cream bar face :)

Thanks for the info. So it's pretty essential for a few weeks a year, and then you can stick it in the cupboard for next time.

It depends on what you do and what you wear. I think it was last summer or the one before that when I was doing gardening in the back yard one sunny day in June for a couple of hours. The day was quite warm although not hot but because I was shoveling dirt and carrying heavy bags, it felt hot and I took off my shirt. That was a mistake. The first night was very uncomfortable. My wife had to apply some lotion onto my back to ease the pain. It got easier but my skin was peeling for a over a week after that.

When I was a kid I remember getting a bad sunburn a once or twice.

I've never owned anything over factor 30, but try not to spend more than an hour in the sun in the summer - in Spain that is, UK is no cream bar face :)

I can manage without sunscreen at home from mid May to late August but only if I keep my shirt on.