As She Ever Was | Five-Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

863228CD-89E7-4AAC-BF38-44300346DA7E.jpeg

Not much has changed. Her hair wisps beneath the blowing ceiling fan just as it did in the wind on our picnic in the Cotswolds. We laid a sheet in the grass beneath a tree neither of us knew and laid out a hodgepodge of plastic food contains with the idea of a picnic.

Her skin shines a little less, but my memory fills the gap with years of being blinded by her light. In the sun on the beaches of Rio de Janiero, drinking cheap caprahinas and laughing as the tourist surfers lost their footing in the wake.

Eyes closed, I still see her green gaze flitting from sight to sight, shimmering with delight over joys unseen. In the Redwood Forest, walking lithely among the trees as if she were rejoining old friends, yet with the humility of a creature in the presence of gods.

Laying beside me, as if quietly sleeping, delicate as she ever was.


This has been a five minute freewrite, prompt: delicate by @mariannewest, of the @freewritehouse. Header photo from Unsplash.

Asset 2-230.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

DQmV67cvPjjfDk5bwtcAVMkQPhf8dxSJPk3BGKSqCBxR8KA.png

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

tna

Sort:  

Wowza this is amazing 😉

Excellent piece to accompany this prompt.

Thank you! Yours is an opinion I value and appreciate highly. 💙

What a nice poetry, good job !!

Thank you! I love freewrite exercises. They push me to produce work I’d not conjure up on my own.