Weekend Freewrite Prompt - Phone

in #freewrite4 years ago

This is my entry for 5 Minute Weekend Freewrite Prompt: Phone.


I remember the sound of the old telephones. I remember my grandma used to wait hours to get the call of my grandfather.

Today I don't get to see the connection among young people. They don't miss each other with same gravity that my grandparents or my parents used to do.

The craving to talk was so high that it was like we are talking now but who knows if there is tommorow to look upto?

Life was simple. We used to miss each other.

Today we are just one message away or one video call away.

But our fingers don't take us to that contact in the list.

We have created animosity with misunderstandings and our own ego. We just can't grow out of that. We just want to be right. And that ends up with we having regret of not able to experience that connection.

Maybe when we were disconnected and have minimal options, that was the best time of this world.

One phone call can make you experience life.

Remember this when you look at those old phones in attic.


Image by Mariannewest

I hope you like my freewrite. Do let me know your thoughts on this freewrite.

I'd appreciate upvote.

Thanks

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Because of electronics, the same type of connection just isn't there. My youngest daughter, now 23, would spend her life in her room if she could. I swear she wouldn't mind being in a prison cell 24/7 as long as she had her phone.

I remember the phone we had when I was a kid. It was black, and very sturdy, and hung on the wall. No carrying that from room to room! We didn't even have a long cord. And we had a party line, shared by a few families.