You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freewrite Prompt: "nobody knows" - but we hope and believe

in #freewritelast year

Awww, thank you, thank you, for this.
Niko is very much a part of my prayer life, along with internet friends I've never met in real life (yes, I remember you @myjob and your family and your lost brothers and your busy life in the fishing boat as I meander the meadows with my dogs, feeling useless and unproductive, esp compared to the accomplished and hardworking people like you).
I love your belief that our lost loved ones are actually with us.
And Memory is Time Travel
Now I'm trying to remember where you wrote that before. Was it in a hive post?
Now I'm eager to head off on that lonely dog walk.
Oh wait. It rained in the night. The meadow is off limits for now...
"I believe in the community of saints" - that's part of the daily Rosary.
And I summon them to join me in my walk, in my petitions, my hymns of praise to whatever Creator God may be at work, setting the first atom into motion, making the first electron spin....

Sort:  

Thank you for including Niko in your prayers. I spoke to him about you some. He knew how much I value our friendship for sure. The last couple years have been so difficult for you and your family. I marvel that you still have any faith at all, yet you do, enough to summon saints on your walks. I like that idea, seeing you in a meadow surrounded by saints and loved ones. Julie and Lori and Kelley alongside, all your beloved departed dogs, and a slew of saints. You belong in their company.

Ever since I started thinking of memory as time travel, I have been able to revist old times more vividly. I can be right back there again. That has not always been pleasant!

How are you useless and unproductive?!!!

Ohhhhh Stacey, you make it all sound so lovely - "in a meadow surrounded by saints and loved ones, all your beloved departed dogs, and a slew of saints." And how glorious to hear I 'belong in their company,' whether they even exist or not. To belong! To walk with them! To pray with them. If our souls live on without our bodies tying us down, may we not be many places at once? Could Niko be with you, and when you're busy, might he walk with me through the meadow? How fun to contemplate!

Memory as time travel. I can see where there would be dark places we prefer not to revisit.

Me, useless and unproductive, yes, those are words in my head that I keep trying to ignore, to prove wrong. With social media and so many homesteaders posting their accomplishments, I look like a total schlub. I am a schlub!!!

But you assure me I am more than that, so I will listen to YOU, not the inner critic who never stops finding fault with me and blaming me. :)

THANK YOU FOR THIS Stacey!!!!

Just shared your memory as time travel with three friends (none of them are at Hive).
First One:

Memory as time travel, of course! I love that! Happy Easter!
Second one:
I also really love the idea of this. Such a beautiful way to reflect and revisit old times.