5-Minute FreeWrite: "Dad Joke of the Day"

in #freewrite4 years ago (edited)

emoticon-2886615_640.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's 5-Minute FreeWrite Daily Prompt. The rules and how to participate are found on this link:
Weekend Freewrite -4/18/2020 - Single Prompt Option

rsz_transparent.png

"Dad Joke of the Day"

I was watching the news this morning whilst having breakfast. According to the news, the Australian Prime Minister is still very firm with his decision that all schools should remain open after the two-week school break. He believes that it's important that children are able to "keep physically going to school," which I totally understand. Homeschooling can be effective to some degree, but I believe that when children are at home, parents can be lax and won't impose strict rules on them. They will then be left behind compared to the children who are physically attending the classes.

I guess, the Prime Minister's decision had something to do with the current ranking of the Australian education system. Australian students are actually behind in reading, maths, and science, according to a study. I've read in some articles that Finland has consistently been in the top rank in the educational ranking.

These thoughts were running through my head as I was eating my peanut butter sandwich whilst watching the news. I told my husband, "I completely understand why the Prime Minister wants to keep the schools open. It's because Australian education is way behind compared to other first-world nations. Finland is actually number 1, do you know that?"

John replied, "Yes, I do know that. Do you know why they're number 1?"

He didn't even let me answer his question. He just added,

"Because in Finland the students are very committed to their education that they "finish".

It took me 5 seconds to realise I was answered with some sort of a "Dad joke!" Then, I burst into peals of laughter!!!


Top Image Source

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-beach-hive.blog-evlachsblog.png

Sort:  

You have to wonder, if the education system behind in the core subjects, then how would sending them back into that system any sooner without changes help? If it's failed them before, more of a failing system doesn't make things any better.

For some, homeschooling can be a better option when the school system is failing them. A one size education, doesn't fit all.