5-Minute Freewrite: "Motivated by a Leader"

in #freewrite4 years ago

leader-4775796_1280.jpg

This is my entry to @mariannewest's 5-Minute FreeWrite Daily Prompt: motivation, which can be found on this link: https://hive.blog/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-908-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-motivation


"Motivated by a Leader"

This daily prompt is very well-timed. I have only just read my Director's email just then, and the daily prompt "motivation" reminded me of that email. She said to get ready for shout-outs, that it was only a SMALL part of what she could say about us all (there are 12 of us Educators and Teachers under her umbrella).

She told me:

"Miss you so much, my beautiful friend! Thank you for your support in the 3-year-old room when you were there! Thanks for the admin tasks you have been doing for us the past three weeks, too. You are a details person and I appreciate that.

I have been working from home for the last three weeks (due to the coronavirus crisis plus the fact I'm pregnant) but it's only 2 hours per week. It's not enough to earn money for my daily expenses but when my Director asked me if I could do some admin tasks for her, I was very grateful of the offer and said that I would be more than willing to do that. It's not that I'm a big people-pleaser but I want to help her with the admin tasks if that would ease up her load.

Truly, I'm blessed to be working in ELC (Early Learning Centre), especially when my "Boss" is not just a boss, but also a "Leader". My Director always acknowledges us, educators and teachers, for something positive that we have done at work. She leads by example and does not avoid doing "less prestigious" part of a job as a preschool educator/teacher, such as changing nappies if required. I have no doubt that my motivation to work and be productive (even when I'm at home) has been greatly influenced by her constant encouragement, support, and excellent leadership skills.

Image Source: Leader

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-beach-hive.blog-evlachsblog.png