So, They Think I'm Special

in #freewrite4 years ago (edited)

05052020-08.jpg

My humans.
They keep calling me "special", but what's so special about me?
I'm just a simple cat, minding my own business most of the time. I sleep a lot, and if my human, Elizabeth, would just leave me alone, I could probably sleep for 12 hours straight during the day. But I don't know why, every time she sees me wrapped up so cozily in my fleece blanket, she has to disturb me and give me belly rubs. All right, I admit, I do like belly rubs and neck rubs, too, but only on my own terms. There are times that I prefer not to be touched even the slightest bit. And then she yells my name out loud, "Kimmy!" when I scratch her with my sharp claws or give her hand a little nibble. She's just being overly dramatic, it's not like I am wreaking havoc when I do that. I'm just making her aware I want to be left alone.

05052020-02.jpg

"Come on, human, leave me be! If you want to pat me or kiss me, by all means, but do it around 4:30-5:00 AM. But you know I'm like clockwork with my routine! I need to be out of the house no later than 5 AM."

Yeah, if only she could understand my growl, or occasional hissing (but I think she gets what it means when I hiss at her). Okay, I'm not that all bad. I do feel sorry sometimes when I hiss at her, so I would lay next to her especially when I see her using my fleece blanket. You see, I even let her do that.

This morning, my other human, John, caught me playing with my prized catch. A mouse!!! He had to call Elizabeth. Why? So she could distract me? Can't they just wait for me to leave the mouse on the front porch when I've had enough playing with it (uhm, because it's dead, what's its use to me anymore?) So yeah, my adoring human, Elizabeth, grabbed her phone and took a photo of me trying to catch the mouse. I guess she was fascinated. Maybe, that's why she thinks I'm special. I get rid of the mice for them. Sometimes I feel like they like me around because of that. Although, I do like the thrill of "catch and chase."

Oh, here's the proof, by the way. Don't say I'm making up stories.

05052020-01.jpg

And because she distracted me, I didn't even realise that the mouse got away from me.

05052020-04.jpg

I was looking everywhere and I couldn't find it. All that effort would be gone to waste, that's what I initially thought. But luckily for me, that poor mouse was almost in its last breath. It might have had run away but it didn't manage to go too far. I found it but the gate was closed and I didn't feel like jumping over the fence or the gate. Thank heavens for my John! He opened the side gate for me so I could chase the mouse again.

05052020-05.jpg

I was already thinking of a lot of ways to get back at Elizabeth for almost ruining my morning. I know that she feels jealous every time I snuggle up against John.

05052020-06.jpg

Well, he's my favourite human. She can't blame me, though, since John is the one that feeds me every morning and every night ON TIME! With her, I have to wait until she gets up from bed before I could eat anything. It's not like I can open the fridge and get my wet food. I have sharp claws, all right! But I'm not that strong to open the fridge by myself. And besides, that's what they are there for. They should always be at my disposal.

I think I know how else I could get back at her. I remember, she got this experiment going on in her study room. She stuck some toothpicks in a coconut looking thing. (Don't ask me how I know "coconut" but not that thing that's floating in the water). I wonder how long that has to stay there before she plants it on the ground. I'm sure that's what she's going to do. Well, I was thinking of knocking it down from the windowsill. That would ruin her day! She almost ruined mine but I can't let her get away with it.

05052020-03.jpg

I know that's very important to her. I see her sometimes working on her computer and I am pretty sure this #grovid20 image has something to do with what she posts on the internet when she writes about plants and her newly-found hobby --- gardening. She's weird. I think she's the one who's special, if you know what I mean.

grovid20.png

Oh, well. Maybe I'd rather not upset her. I do love her. She always sneakily gives me some of her food. My favourite is steak. Yum!!! So whenever I feel like doing it, I also give her my tender affection and attention. Again, on my own terms.

05052020-07.jpg


All photos are my own unless otherwise stated.
#grovid20 banner credit to Tiger Lily

rsz_transparent.png

This is a freewrite exercise using the @mariannewest's word prompt, "toothpicks in a coconut", and @shadowspub's fiction prompt, "They keep calling me “special”, but what’s so special about me?".

evlachsblogshootingstar1.png

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-beach-hive.blog-evlachsblog.png

Sort:  

Wow this was just the best story I have read in a long while @evlachsblog, you caught your cats perspective flawlessly, thanks a lot for sharing, it's awesome.



Made in Canva


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Oh thank you! I enjoyed writing it.

Thanks @evlachsblog, I can vividly imagine that you did, keep up your awesome work.