Awoken - A 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_2023.JPG

The day had been rough. Why? He didn’t remember. He didn’t want to remember. The bench beneath him was his only link to this world, and even that felt almost surreal. Maybe he was sitting at the park, maybe he wasn’t. All he could see was darkness now. Dusk had engulfed everything else. It was deep into the night, but with no stars in the sky. No moon either, just darkness.

He had to be dead. It was only natural. He thought he would be used to the feeling by now. He had died many times before. With every un-fulfilled wish, with every good deed he didn’t do, with every non-returned smile, he had died.

Dark as it was, the place wasn’t scary, just lonely. Ah, but then again, loneliness was scary. Would he stay like that forever? Just sitting there, dead and alone?

Ages passed before he felt something again. A presence to his right. Someone sat beside him. She was at arm’s reach, so he reached—his body slow and heavy, numbed by the cold dew that had settled upon him during the long, long night.

She was still warm to the touch, but he knew better than anyone else that she was at risk of losing her warmth. He pulled her in. Not with his arm, hand barely touching her shoulder, but with his soul. He had to pull her into the real world even if it meant he had to go back too. He was saving her. He was saving himself.

It was almost dawn and they were still sitting on the bench. The night had once again covered them in a delicate layer of dew, but those cool droplets felt and looked just how they were supposed to: soft and fresh and reflecting the light of the imminent sunrise.

They were back.


Since I had already mixed in dew in my last freewrite I felt like I should bring a similar note for today's prompt. It ended up being... weird. But I like it anyway.

PD: No matter how many of these freewrites I do, I still dread my fight against the clock and still LOVE the outcome. Every time.

Sort:  

You'll get better at it with time trust me, take your mind off the clock.

Today's prompt at your disposal.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-238-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-miami

Thank you very much!

OOOH! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! This is fantastic :) I have similar feelings about the clock. Sometimes I just let it ride and work it out to a longer story, but the challenge of the 5 minutes is what keeps me going, because I can always find five minutes.

Thanks! Comments like this one make me really really happy! I'm really really glad you liked it.

It's great when the inspiration outlives the 5 minutes hahaha

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

Thank you very much! I'm honoured. It is a great initiative. I'll make sure to check the other posts :)