The Ugliest Sculpture - Day 89: 5 Minute Freewrite:

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I'm trying to practice being a bit more descriptive and building characters from nothing. Not sure this is the most exciting free write, but it is what popped in to my head.


'How on earth are we going to sell this?' said Adam, strutting around the gallery, his belly wobbling slightly.

The piece of art just sat there, it duck-like face gawking awkwardly at all those who looked at it.

'And, why does it have a telescope coming out of it's eye? What purpose does that even serve?' thundered Adam, slamming his slightly overweight hand down on an old mahogony table.

'It's art. It doesn't need to serve a purpose,' said Lisa, taking a long draw on a cigarette. With the same hand that the cigarette was in, she picked up a black coffee, sipping from it. 'Besides, I think it's rather quirky. Look at it there, on wheels. We'll get a buyer for it no problem.'

'If we get a buyer for this,' said Adam, 'then I'll quit my job and you can take over the gallery.'

And just then, as if the fates had deemed it so, the door to the gallery opened. A stylish customer, dressed in finery with a sweeping hat, entered through the door. Lisa turned to Adam and gave a half smile, putting her coffee down and butting out her cigarette. The customers eyes seemed to fix on the duck, and the colour drained from Adam's face.

By the end of the day, he might just be out of a job.

Sort:  

Hah, I love stories like this! I wonder if she'll hold him to his word when the duck sells. :-)

Thanks! Perhaps we will find out! :)

yes!! did she sack him?? :D Love your descriptions!! well done!!!

I guess we don't know yet! Perhaps we will find out...

You took it in totally different direction from all of the others I've read so far. Great work!
Now, see what you can do with this
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-90-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-children

Thanks. I had a shot at the children one, continuing my turbine free write.

I love this!!! so clever!