Won't Share : Freewrite Daily Prompt

in #freewrite10 months ago

pexels-cottonbro-studio-4069292.jpg

My name is Zayn and I'm an introvert. I hate crowds, it always feels like I'm lost in it. I find comfort in my solitude, it's easy to see the world as it is from there.

Well, It's Monday and I had my entire attention focused on this new job I just landed online, because, well, I had decided to spend the rest of my youth making a fortune.

Love hasn't been much of a motivation in my life because it has never worked out for me. Why?
I have always been at the giving end but never at the receiving end, and that made me second guess my worth, but I had to believe in myself and shut that part out.

It's 7:14pm, I feel… overwhelmed? Yes, that must be it. So I get up and decide to go out for a long walk. On my way out the door, my phone vibrates in my pocket and I pull it out to check.

"Hello?"
"Hey man, what's up? "It was Davis on the other end..
"Nothing really, just wanna take a walk to clear my head " I answered, already walking down the street…
"Ah, great! " he responded with much enthusiasm "I was on my way out too, you could join me, let's go chill somewhere "
"A'ight then, let's go "I responded nonchalantly because I needed some time but, this will do.

We met after a few minutes and we headed to a cool spot, just at the famous market square in our community. We sat there, had a couple drinks and chatted about meaningless things… trust me, the conversations had no positive effects on us.

Just when I decided we should leave, two girls came by to say hi and well, Davis isn't an introvert like me so he entertained them.

They had a few conversations, and I couldn't help but notice the beauty of the melanin sitting just across the table. It took a lot of self control not to say something.

"Hi, your necklace looks enchanting…" Emily, a blonde with ocean blue eyes said to me and I replied with a quick nod and a "Thank you, It was a gift from an old friend "
"May I have it? " She said… I became confused, I mean, does she even know me?
Immediately, I noticed the bottle of water in her hand so I said… "Yes, but only if you share your water with me"

"No, go get yours " she answered sternly and although it came as a shock, it gave a back up to the fact that they always want to get but not give back.

"Hey, you can have mine", she stretches her hand, passing her water bottle to me, although she hadn't even drank from it.
"that's how she is, she just won't share anything with anyone " she added..

Locking eyes together, I stretched to receive the bottle and said a low but firm "Thank you ". Her eyes, dark brown and dreamy, smiled in their sockets before her face mirrored it. The first girl to share what is hers with me.

"What's your name? " I asked, 100% interested in her being.
"I'm Evergreen" she answered, still holding my gaze and my heart stopped in my chest… just then, realisation hit me. THIS IS THE ONE.

#freewrite #dailyprompt #write #writer