You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bad language

in #freewrite4 years ago

After living in Ireland for a little over 8 years now, I find that if I listen carefully, I can understand everyone. However, there is a thing among ALL farmers in Ireland, whether they're from Kerry, Cork, Roscommon, or Mayo, or elsewhere. They all seem to have their own mumbly language. It doesn't matter where they're from, I don't understand either of them. But if 'normal' citizens speak, from either which place, I can understand it all.

I take great pride in being able to understand the Dublin accent. I remember when Love/Hate was on TV, I read this article once where they said that they had to subtitle the series in the UK because no one could understand. I just didn't get it. I had only been in Ireland for a year or so, and I had no difficulty understanding the series. I guess it totally depends on the person watching. LOL. I guess I am Irish at heart.

Sort:  

I've no doubt you'd've understood my 10 Kerry men perfectly and indeed, could likely have translated them into Portuguese so that a nice cuppa tea was had by all. I've long suspected that all you Dutchies are born with some sort of inbuilt language app.

LOL. I'm not too sure about the Portugese part. That language is a different kettle of fish altogether!
And a built-in language app...😂 Wouldn't that be something. We all need one of those! It would make life and travel so much easier.