#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 112 - Picture Challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago

I've been down here for hours. I'm not even sure what I'm looking for anymore. Every creek sends shivers down my spine. I'm trying to play it cool, but it's creepy down here. There are rats running around and bats flying through the air. Hanging from the beams. There isn't a single light in the entire place. The only way I can see anything is with this small flashlight. It's been so long since I've been here. I remember when I was a kid my brother used to hide down here when we were playing games. I don't know how he came down alone. He always said that him and Jimmy would play patty-cake. That was his imaginary friend. I never saw Jimmy. I never heard him speak. I dont think my brother even cared whether or not he was real because he was real enough for him. My brother is the reason I came back here. Something was lost, and I figured this could be the only place to find it. Why? Why did he have to leave like this? Just up and disappear out of the blue. I'm not sure what he's thinking half-the-time. Or any of the time for that matter.


[Image by @the.artist-98]

What was that? I swear I heard something. Bro, are you down here? What's going on? Why can't I see anything. This damn flashlight must be out of batteries. I don't know how I'm gonna find my way out of here. I can't see a damn thing.

This is not good. Why did I even come down here in the first place? What was it that I was looking for? I've been running around in circles for hours. It feels like days. Im not getting hungry. Or thirtsy for that matter either. Huh. The flashlight started working again.

Why did I come down here? I can't remember. My brother. He used to come down here when we would play hide-and-seek. He had an imaginary friend Jimmy.

Wait...this all seems familiar.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 112) prompt was to use the above image as the prompt. If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

An interesting story.. I wish you had more than 5 minutes to write because I'd like to see where you go with it... What was it he was looking for... and will he ever find it?!

I hope we find out one day.

Great write, keep up the great work :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Honestly I wasn't even sure what to write next so it's a good thing the 5min were up! I don't really know what he's looking for but no...he'll never find it

Are you even down there!? Great stuff here, mate!

I'm hopping from Freewriter to Freewriter dropping the prompt for the day!

Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski

wait. Why did I come here? It seems so familiar 😂

Well done!!