You can Freewrite, but can you Freeread?

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Fascinating. Freewriting, supposedly nonstop writing for about five minutes. I could try that out myself. But is anyone going to be interested in my train of thought? I believe it can be great tool for getting thoughts out of my head. But contributing to this platform with high-quality content? Hardly.

I ran out of thoughts already. That happens when you don't clearly state the purpose of an activity to yourself. You will stop in the middle of it, realizing there is no point.

I see Steemit flooded with posts without any point or purpose. People posting for the sake of posting. That might be what I'm doing right now. I might just want a piece of that attention. But maybe I want to make a little experiment. I have written posts over which I spent long time agonizing, worrying whether they're good enough. I doubt those worries running through my head mattered to those five people who have seen my posts.

We are all posting, but who is reading? Do you vote because you find it genuinely interesting, or do you search for content only to justify to yourself your need for votes, for attention. Telling yourself: If i vote and comment this many times, I should get some votes as well, right? What goes around, comes around.

I can't read what I'm not interested in. I can't write about what I'm not interested in. But does it really matter on Steemit in its current form? If this mindless post of mine will get unusual attention, I guess I will be disappointed.

I will add a photo, at least. That's what seems to pass for a high quality contribution these days...

Japa Steemit.jpg

Just to clarify, this post is the result of 5 minutes of freewrititng.

Sort:  

Much ado about nothing. And Japan.

I think with the number of people on steemit right now, the only truly consistent focus is steemit itself, unless you have the SP to gain followers looking for votes. That's generalizing abit, but especially true for newcomers in different niches.

That's why I like to do a bit of both when it comes to voting and interacting, I'm interested in a variety of things so it really helps make it easier. But ya, I comment on people's blogs who have a high vote more often than I probably should. I see it as growth. At the same time I try to support content I love and find interesting an equal amount.

Interacting with the community is great. How else are we going to find similarly-minded people if we don't comment on each other's posts? I'm definitely guilty of all what I mentioned. But then I want to interact with someone who wrote an interesting article and I have to compete for attention with people (oh, I wish they were all people) replying stuff like "Great post, I upvoted you!" or "This is the best post on Steemit, I followed you!"

It's discouraging, but we all probably realize that Steemit has not yet reached its final form we should try to influence the direction for the best.

those kind of posts only bother me when they are on a blog where the blogger always autovotes his comments, so these crap comments sometimes make big$ because they were first because it's a bot... Otherwise I see them get flagged a ton haha, it's a losing strategy long term so I wouldn't worry about it too much.

And too true, we are going to see some major evolution this year as we get more users and the platform develops with communities SMT's and quicker sign up

Sorry, but how do you hope to have any votes, when literally your second sentence is telling me I shouldn't care. You're not a bad writer.

I'm confused. Was that a compliment or should I feel ashamed?

But honestly, thank you for the interaction. I really appreciate you coming out of your way to read my posts after I commented on yours. That is rare!

You asked me for a critique. Sorry, I didn't mean to be harsh. I should have given more. I've been all over the map with launching the dolphinschool bootcamp with @markrmorrisjr. Anyway, you are chasing your readers away with those words. You've got to engage them. Drag them in, promise them an experience they'll never forget, and deliver. You have the skills, you're just letting your frustration show.

You really made me think about my attitude towards writing on Steemit and how can I improve myself. I'm afraid your observations are quite correct and these tendencies of mine are showing even in my daily life. Thank you.

Look , I get it. I'm a cynic by nature myself. But, a few years ago, I started asking, what's the best that could happen, and taking time to be grateful for everything in my life, when I remember. We only hurt ourselves when we do that. We lose the one thing we want, companionship, because we become people no one wants to associate with. It's just as honest to look on the bright side. Every shadow is caused by a light.