Freewrite Day 201 - Wedding Dress

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image Source: https://www.pinterest.com

She was standing in front of the mirror in the beautiful white designer wedding dress. The bridal boutique sales lady was ecstatic with how she looked; her mother in law looked her once over and gave a sign of approval.
"That will do quite nicely. I think we'll take that one."
The girl, Anne, looked over to her mother in law as she googled on her phone at the other requirements.
"Now - we have to look at the seating arrangements at the reception. I've organized the invites to be printed and delivered..."
Anne interrupted "Ah Claudia - I didn't even get to see the invitations. Did you show them to Mark?"
Claudia responded quickly "Really Anne - you don't have to worry yourself about such insignificant details. You just concentrate on staying fit and healthy for the wedding. I'm perfect at organizing these sorts of details."

Anne looked back at the mirror. She had met Mark 6 years ago and instantly fallen in love. He became the most important thing in her life as career started to take a back seat and just became more of a job. She could start to see a future as wife and mother. Unfortunately, that future included this mother-in-law.

She went back to the change room to get out of the dress, and pulled out her mobile at the same time. "Mark, your mother is driving me crazy. Do we have to do everything she is organizing?"
She could hear him laughing. "I know. At the moment she's made up a list of 200 people that she knows to invite to the wedding. Most of them I've never met."
"What do you want?"
"If I have my way, we would travel off to some faraway place and just get married on the beach - us and a couple friends."
"Your mother will kill us!!"
"I don't care. We can do a recommitment ceremony to keep the vultures happy when we get back."
"It sounds like a waste, when I have a nice white silk dress at home. I could wear that on the beach."
"Perfect. You'll be beautiful. You're the most important thing to me."
A smile came on her face.
"Sounds good to me..."

Sort:  

I want to go to the wedding! Haha I loved the overly controlling mother-in-law and her son's reaction.

Thanks! 😊 I love that the son does what he likes, and nuts to Mum!

Run away!! Run away!!! Elopement definitely the way to go for Anne and Mark! Can you imagine Claudia's face when she finds out!!

Haha - paintings have been created from that look!

Ha ha, big time...

The mother-in-law is in charge of the wedding, but hopefully not in charge of their lives. Time to set boundaries after the wedding which will hopefully be far away, with only Anne and Mark. : )

Resident cat here, thinking that Anne might need a parasol during her wedding to Mark, on a sunny beach. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!