Humiliating humility: A freewrite

in #freewrite2 years ago

IMG-20220118-WA0001.jpg

Being humble or let me say humility is a good thing it is a character that should be embrace by all. But I found out that there are some humiliating humility or let me say foolishness all in the name of humility.
Mrs Forth is my friend and she is a very beautiful, hard working, ambitious lady I ever knew. Who was doing well in all areas of her life as a single lady. She was practically progressive. At a point she got a state job couple with her business and she was running every thing smoothly. Her prayer being answered she got married because people keep saying that was what remains for her to be a complete woman(not my opinion though).

Everybody was happy for her I was too because every time I come around her she complains bitterly about that aspect of her life. After she got married her husband gain ownership of all she had (which I am not against though) and also told her to always submit her monthly salary to him too (now I am going crazy). I didn't mind because I can't interfere in people family matter I like to mind my business but down deep in my heart I was not too comfortable with that when she told me.

Life goes on everybody living there life at there own pace. God so good she conceive and gave birth and I went to her house to rejoice with her. When I was there I noticed some things but I decided to keep my cool. It got to a point I have to spend my own money because money keeper wasn't around and bills needs to be settled. Babysitting and the rest was done and I went to my house.

I was in my house one day tired from the stress of work I haven't even undress. I just heard a knock on my door I was replying from where I sat down because I actually thought it was one of those vendors that I do patronize but I realize the knock was persistent so I stood up to check who it was and I found out it was my friend's sister. I let her in but I was so surprised at the same time. I ask her what the matter was because she was sobbing that was how she start narrating the whole story.

My friend (Mrs Forth) had only a sister because there parent are late. She has been the one taking care of the girl right from her childhood glory to God she is not in the university. She was in her 2nd year when her sister got married. And ever since I sister got married things change. She hardly get money from her sister to pay school fees talk less of fending for her self. At this point she needed to pay her school fees so as not to pay extra for paying late and needed to register her courses because exam is near. She told me how her sister's husband has deprived her access to anything called money. If she needs anything she must tell her husband it is the husband that will determine whether or not she can have that. The bad part of the story that got be angry was when the sister went to ask for her school fees the husband said she is old enough to work and fend for herself that if his wife which happens to be the girl's sister didn't work and fend for herself she won't have what she is asking for.

At this point I totally knew there was a big problem but we need wisdom to solve this problem on ground. I gave the lady the money that I had so she could register and pay her school fees to get that out of the way and told her the issue will be resolved I gave her the little food stuffs I heard at home and she left.
The next day I didn't bother going to my workplace (because I was self employed) I went straight to my friend's store because I couldn't go to her house the husband doesn't like friends visiting her so I have to respect that. I told her sister came to my house and shared with me what was happening and ask her if all I heard was true. She just busted into tears at this point I became confuse because marriage counseling wasn't part of my job but I have no option to include it now lols.
I told her to stop crying take a deep breath and explain everything to me I am all hears. When she was done I practically forced myself not to hate the man because I can't imagine such a behavior. I told her the fault was from her because she was desperate, the man saw her desperation and give it a good ride. She tried to defend herself by saying she was just be submissive then I said that is not submission but practical foolishness. You did a joint account that only the man have access to and he is the only one that can dictate when to give you money and what you should use the money for and these are to your disadvantage. A high rank working class lady that can't boast of a good hairstyle since you are married.

I was so furious that I had to pray for her to receive sense. Because she still send money from her own account to the joint account all in the name of submission. I told her " go back home and explain to your husband you won't be able to continue that joint account of a thing and you should stop right away if not your life will break and your bishopric position which you are holding and making you behave foolishly will be giving to another and then who will take care of your children? Is it your sister that you've neglect and who will be trying to cater for her own life too then". At this point she raise her head and look at me. Let me just say she received the sense.

After that conversation I left for my work although very late but I was happy I was able to nail the point. But come to think of it why should a person be lording over another person's property. My took the advice which caused a bit of clash but was resolved and everybody living fine. Chai wisdom is profitable to direct.
An entry into @mariannewest everyday Freewrite

Sort:  

Congratulations @oluwadebby! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!