5-minute freewrite Day 1000 prompt: Ten Years of Darkness

in #freewrite4 years ago

Ten years of darkness. I can't imagine what that would be like. I don't like short winter days, when there are only a few hours of daylight, and the sky is often cloudy as well. I've never lived in the far north, like Scandinavia or Alaska, where the sky remains dark all day and all night for weeks on end. I don't think I would like that very well. Now push that to ten years of darkness, no sunlight at all, nothing but dark. I think it would be very depressing, and difficult to get a lot of things done.

Then again, there are people who have been blind a lot longer than that, and even a flashlight doesn't help them get around easier. Many of them are quite cheerful about their lot in life, and get around just fine. So perhaps I shouldn't complain if I were to get stuck living in darkness for ten years.

It would be even worse to live in spiritual darkness for that length of time, and many people do that very thing. They have no hope for the future, and rely totally on themselves for everyday living, since they don't believe in God. I feel sorry for such folks. It must be an empty, meaningless way to live. I am thankful to have God in my life every day, providing me with light to guide my way along rough paths. My life is not easy or simple, and I need Him every day.

Sort:  

You really touched on a lot here. I need the sun as well. I guess a blind person can still feel the sun on their skin.