Remote Relationship - A five-ish minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Remote Relationship


I was at home, working, when I caught my long distance lamp light up with the corner of my eye. It was highly unusual for it to light up at that time because Becky was supposed to be at work for at least another three hours.

I grabbed my phone, dialed her number, and rushed to touch the lamp myself. I wanted her to know I was there for her.

“Is everything okay, love?” I didn’t even wait long enough for her to say hello.

“My–My mom had a car accident.” I could hardly understand her through the sobbing.

“Is she going to be okay? What happened? Why didn’t you call me?” I didn’t know what to say to comfort her and I didn’t have the time to think about what was appropriate to say and what wasn’t.

“She didn’t make it. They told me just an hour ago and I was too out of myself to call you. I don’t know what to do, Sean, I just want you to be here with me. ”

“I’m coming over with the first flight tomorrow, okay?”

“No. You worked so hard for this and it’s only a month more. I’ll be okay, I just–can I ask you something?”

“Sure! Anything!”

“Can I video call you and just watch you work? I want to feel like I’m there with you but also just be left alone.”

“Of course! Just make sure you call me if you want to talk to me, okay? I’ll fire up Discord now and call you. I love you, Becky.”

“I love you too.” She hung up and I hurried back to my computer to set up the video call.


The prompt was:

"Remote"



Liked what you read? Interested in more?
Consider following my author account @davidkain
I post all my best work there!


Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled so far:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west, Frozen Lake, Flea Market, Accident, The Gut Monster, Other Side, Late night walk, The Eternal Question, Warrant, Costume Party, Suspect, Pep talk.



Consider voting the @qurator witness!

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

All the feels; enjoyed this piece. Thank you @svashta (:

Very happy to hear you enjoyed it ^^

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

There was a short time when I lived quite far away from all of my family and friends. Sometimes, I would call one of them up and we would just chat about random stuff for no reason for over an hour while we would play video games or do whatever in our respective locations.

I think because of those times in particular, this piece really resonated with me. Thank you for sharing.

I feel like playing video games together is usually more about just doing something together and talking to each other than actually playing the game. The game is just there so you don't stare in a blank screen while talking to each other... That's how I feel about most games, at least...

Glad you enjoyed it! ^^

Yepp! One that lights up when the other person touches it! ^^
Useful in times of distress, in times of happy, in times of loneliness, in times of need, and in times of bliss. Practically always. :P

Thanks ^^

Oh my goodness. It's a real thing, I just googled it. I thought you'd made it up! I'm soooo 20th century;)

Hahaha :D
Yepp, very real! ^^
No wi-fi lamps in the 20th century, huh? :P

all the video call options really make a difference. It is like hanging out with each other...

Yeah, and the selfie cam on the phones actually finally gets a proper meaning - at least for me as I don't really like taking selfies ^^

Very glad to have you stop by!
Sorry to be so on and off lately... Feels like I lost my writing vibe, ugh.

A five-ish minute freewrite - Love it! I'd want to steal it but mine are always an hour, minimum. This one is poignant. Well done!

Very happy you enjoyed the read! ^^
A little too real, too, but as @mariannewest pointed out; thanks to modern technology and all the possible ways to stay in touch, the distance is at least somewhat mitigated.