Day 12: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: Sweater

in #freewrite6 years ago

”Okay, boys! It is time to open up your presents now that Santa has come and gone,” she says waking from her sleep. My brother and I have been standing at the foot of her bed for hours waiting for this moment to arrive. Of course, we jumped on her a time or two attempt to prompt her to get up earlier.

My brother and I are so excited we run to the living room where the tree is at. Mom, still half asleep with half opened eyes and a yawn, strolls in from the bedroom to the living room. ”Just wait a mintue, and Tristan, get back from the tree. I’ll give you the one I want you to open first.”

My brother and I wait, hardly able to contain our excitement. I keep hoping that Santa brought me that new remote-controlled car or the electric race track, or a bag of marbles or a deck of cards or ... it’s a long list!

She comes over to the tree, bends down, picks up two packages, and hands one to each of us. It is a rectangular box about 4x4x2. We tear at the wrapper, throwing it all over the place. My brother and I get to the taped brown box at the same time. We rip off the lid. Our faces drop.

”Isn’t that so cute! Sweaters!” my mom says with a great amount of joy.

At the same time, my brother and I say with sad, disappointed faces, ”Again? We got this last year.” 😭


pixabay

========

Freewrite brought to you by @mariannewest

Day 194: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: sweater

My Completed Freewriting prompts:

  1. Dude
  2. Bittersweet
  3. Basket
  4. Housecoat
  5. Nail
  6. Faster Than Light
  7. Cane (Bonus: Red Wine)
  8. A Ridiculous Amount of Fun
  9. Mosquito
  10. Bamboo
  11. Hook

Weekend Free Write:

  1. The Picture
  2. The Crooked Umbrella
Sort:  

What happans my baby

How disappointing! I hope that you and your brother got something from your list. : )
Resident cat here, playing with marbles while delivering today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-195-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-the-entryway

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!