Pitfall - Freewrite

in #freewrite3 years ago

pitalls.jpg
Source

It was a day better suited for an arctic fox, frigid and cold...wet inside my bones. The bladed wind cut through the artificial layers of my quivering smile as I stood in the cattle line to enter the grocery store. "Ma'am....Ma'am", the mask and glove clad hostest with the mostest called out. "It's going to be a 20 minute wait...We're full to capacity...You can come back later?" she prompted. I blinked with measured disappointment and the ever-present reminder that 1984 is no longer fiction. I stammered off, wobbling as I tried to walk coherently on numb toes back to my car only to find a note that simply read, "Life's pitfalls enable us to free our minds of expectation"

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite

Sort:  

Ah, sounds dismal. A reflection of the times? May Spring come soon - for your character, if not for you :P

wet inside my bones

I like that one - and 'bladed wind' - nice!

Thank you....I am trying something new with fiction and freewrites. I am hoping for improvement :) Don't take my fictitious characters as real...although I'm sure they come from somewhere in my psyche. LOL

I look forward to spring every year (I'm allergic to it, but) I LOVE it so much. Definitely a mood elevator. Let there be color again!

Thank you @riverflows....looking forward to reading more of your pieces.