Day 210: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Tree

in #freewritecontest6 years ago (edited)

Day 4 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest


Imgur



This is my freewrite for Day 4 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest, hosted by @freewritehouse.

You can also find today’s freewrite prompt here: Day 210: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: tree, hosted by @mariannewest.



A Scary Surprise

There was a tree outside the window that needed to be trimmed. The tips of the branches scrapped the window making an eerie sound. At first, I didn’t know what it was, but after I discovered it was the branches I felt less nervous staying at the house.

My brother didn’t know the house and therefore didn’t know about the tree. He stayed over once, and I put him in the spare room. This was the same room with the tree. That night we had a bad storm and the trees were moving a lot.

The sound began with just a light tapping. Tap tap tap. I didn’t think anything of it. Then the wind picked up and the branches hit the window a little harder making more of a swoosh sound. Swoosh swoosh swoosh.

It wasn’t until it sounded like it was about to break the window that my brother emerged from the room asking what the noise was. I told him, “I don’t know.” But of course, I knew it was the tree. He went out into the storm to investigate.

When he came back he had something in his arms. He said, “It’s just the tree outside the window making that noise. But look at what I found hiding under the back porch." He held up a wet little fur-ball of a kitten and my heart melted.

“We will call him Groot.” I said.

Ding!

Thanks for reading!



Recent posts by @simgirl
Day 203: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Back Pain
Day 204: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Late
The Weekend Freewrite- 5/12/2018 The Help
Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Mother
Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Banana- The Fruit Fly
Day 208: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: paper
Day 209: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Milk

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgurw

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

Love this story <3

Yay! I love that you love it!

You are cool. I like you

Thank you!

You are welcome

I actually got the AWWWW face at the end of the story. How precious. 😍 I love this freewrite. 😍

Awwwa thank you! That is an awesome compliment!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord