Blackout - A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words - 4/16/2022

in #freewritehouse2 years ago

source


There was a huge blackout last night. I've never seen the night's sky so full of stars. And the streets so full of... dread. If you stayed quiet long enough, you could hear a piano in the background. Some devilish being was playing the Moonlight Sonata at a thrilling tempo. So slow, yet, every note seemed to take me by surprise.
Obviously, there was no Moonlight Sonata, no piano, no devil in disguise somewhere in the distance making the evening eerier just by existing. The notes were whispers in the street. Inside of my neighbors' houses. The city was so silent, the people so loud. I could almost hear them breathe---
I poured some whisky into a glass and went to the window. Some cars passed by, speeding. Their sound faded into the distance. Someone screamed. Someone shut a door. I took a zip.
And then, silence, again. It may have been a mere few seconds, but it felt like an eternity. I couldn't bear it any longer. That dreadful silence was lurking in the shadows. The longest second of my life didn't seem to be coming to an end any time soon. Time was frozen in darkness. So I smashed my glass against the window and as I saw it pierce the broken crystal, the light came back, and the city returned to normal.
Finally, I could get a nice and lousy night of sleep.


Original post

Thanks for reading, everyone!

Sort:  

It feels as if life is reset by the broken glass.
Thanks for joining pic1000. 👍

Nice piece from you
Kudos