'The Days of Innocence' (Freewrite)

in #freewriters3 years ago

They were soft –
The flakes that fell on your hands
During the days of innocence.

Do you remember building snowmen
In the old garden
Before the house was sold and everything changed?

The crunch of frost-covered fallen leaves –
I can still hear the sound.
You always said, 'the trees will turn green again: just wait and see.
The sunny days will be back before you know it.'

Nowadays my home is filled with sunlight –
I have the wealth, the fame, everything I dreamed of –
but sometimes I still think I see
Flakes
Soft on your hands
During the days of innocence.

______

This was a response to one of @mariannewest's recent freewrite prompts, let it snow. I found myself conjuring up an image of a celebrity-type person, living in Hollywood – where snow rarely falls – reflecting on a simpler time. There could well be a story in there...

The painting is mine – it's entitled 'Winter', I painted it a while ago, and it felt like an apt accompaniment to this freewrite.

Sort:  

Hi aislingcronin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.