ELATED TO BE BACK!!!

in #freewriters2 years ago

I am actually struggling to start a sentence but I will not leave here today without answering the question, where have I been?
I have spent so much time in the hospital that its beginning to feel like home.
I am a doctor who recently got her first appointment from the Nigerian government. I had to relocate to a city far away from home to start my life.
No one told me how exhausting and exasperating being a doctor in Nigeria is.
Oh well! perhaps they did but I guess I thought my instictiveness had envisaged that I could somehow maneuver the stress that comes with working in the Nigerian medical system.
The first two months had me rethinking my elicit idea of studying medicine in the first place.
If given a chance, will I still be a doctor? HAHA!
Indeed, the saying God cannot be everywhere so he sends doctors is a viable cliche.
SO WHERE HAVE I BEEN?
I have been working all day, all night with minimal amount of sleep and maximum stress but I AM BACK ON HIVE .
In just 2 months and 3 weeks, I have lost 8KG in weight, I do not remember the last time I had a proper home cooked meal, read a random book that is not medical, Netflix and chill, had my hair properly done or spent quality time with family and friends just yapping about yings and yangs .
My social life battery is currently on 10% and I am not even ready to charge it up.
If I get just one day out of 7 days to myself, I will brush my teeth, take a bath and lay in bed. Afterwards, I will draw down my curtains, put off all the lightings in my apartment and order in some al dente with very spicy chicken and cocktail while enjoying an exceptionally comic movie on Netflix. I will laugh out so loud while at it like the entire world revolved around me or like my entire existence had just one last day to live.
Intern years as a doctor should have been called : The desolate years of a doctor's career.
The good news remains that I am back on hive and I will try my best to stay consistent.
I am happy I finally found the words to express my absence.
I plan to stay seen on this platform while staying sane in reality.
Thank you Hive.

This is an unfiltered photo of DR. EYOH after a 36 hours call.

Sort:  

36 hours 😪. What city are you currently in?

Abeokuta. Yes 36hrs plus cus i will still go to work the next day