During the full Moon



"I think that'll do it," the witch said.

"How will I know?" my friend George asked as he bit down on the small bag of mashed up bones.

The witch put her mug down and began lighting a few candles. "If he's been bitten, you'll feel him." She put the bottle of sulfur next to the candles. "I should've made more. You said you wanted the kind that'll last more than six hours."

"I didn't forget," George said.

"I will never understand why you drink that powder," she said.

"It's got to be good," George said. "I use it for every full moon. I've had a lot of trouble with girlfriends."

"Well, at least you have enough friends to keep you company," she said. "The smell of that stuff is disgusting."

"We're not actually going to drink that stuff, are we?" George asked.

She shook her head and looked at George with little hope. "Keep him close," she said. "I need to do something else." She turned and looked out of the corner of her eye. "The old lady's back."

George finished his drink and we held him while he breathed his last breath.

"She'll live," the witch said. "I'd think that you could handle her. I heard what happened."

"I'll try," George said. "My old man always said it was best when a woman had her own room, too."

"It was best in ancient times, but not now," she said. "I'll make you a bed on the floor. Try not to have many visitors. My blue haze won't last too long."

The witch looked at her watch and went to the counter. "We have just enough time to finish the circle," she said. "You count one," she said. "I'll do the rest." The witch grabbed a few feathers off the table and began to sing. "One, two, three … . eight, nine, ten." She looked at her watch. "That'll do it." She looked at the feathers in her hand and flicked them on the ground. "Just in time. I don't think that she'll know what's going on."

"I'll take care of my old man," George said. "Thanks for everything."

"I'm sorry about your love," the witch said. "I'll do everything I can to help. You wait here." The witch stood up and went to a window. "She's getting off the clock."

"I'm sorry, too," George said.

"It's not your fault," the witch said. "It was her own foolishness. History repeats itself."

"I'll remember that when I screw up," George said. "It's ancient history." He looked at the witch. "Thanks."

"If it wasn't for him, you wouldn't be here tonight," the witch said. "It's not fair that you'd end up in here."

The witch walked back over to the table and grabbed her ashtray and stepped on the edge. "The world has been turned upside down by men like you," she said. "Like every other witch, I'm grateful to you. Flattery will get you everywhere I guess."

He smiled.

The witch looked at the ashtray while she picked it up. "You know what you're supposed to do."

"I knew you'd be here," he said.

She put the ashtray on the other side of the table. "Did you? You knew I'd be here tonight?"

He grabbed his chest. "I know it sounds silly," he said. "I just knew."

She smiled. "I guess time outs aren't so bad," she said. "I've had a few."

"You have?" he asked. "How old are you?"

"Too old," she said. "I'm twice as old as you. I've seen it all."

"I guess so," he said. "But I remember every word."

She took a step closer to him. "Shush," she said. "I'm glad that you still want to spend your time with me."

"I'll try to be perfect," George said.

"The witch grabbed George's hand. "What do you remember about me?"

"You're a hands-on kind of girl," George said. He smiled at her when she stood up and knocked him over. She stood up and kissed him. "Sorry."

"Don't pay any attention to me," she said. "Keep telling me stories." She winked at him. "And don't worry. There are some others who'd like to spend more time with me."

"I'd like to see them," he said. "I still miss you."

"You'll get used to it," she said. "I'm fifteen minutes away."

"How do you

"I'll see you when you get back," he said. "I'll be right here."


img src

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more