New to the University



I was having a good day. Not a perfect day, but a good one. My first class of the day had been cancelled so I would have the whole day to relax before my next, which started at eight. My favorite time of day was late afternoon. The morning rush was over and everyone was either in class, at practice, or asleep. Evenings were busy, with students either practicing for some event or getting ready for the week ahead. I enjoyed midday. Everyone was still up and about, but it was quiet, peaceful. No one was in a big hurry to get anything done. The sun was bright and cheerful, illuminating the campus and making anything possible. It was nice to have a quiet peaceful day. I got some coffee and sat down at a table outside. I was getting ready to crack open my laptop when a boy walked by. He had a book in his hand, but he wasn't reading. He was staring at the pane of glass that made up the building I was sitting in front of.

He was wearing a black gaming shirt with some kind of logo on the front. The shirt was not recognizable to me. It had not been one of the promotional shirts given away at a gaming convention. The only reason I knew it was gamer apparel was because I was a gamer, too. It was not the main reason I noticed him. He was cute, but not the sort of cute that caught my eye. I was a big fan of tall boys. This boy was not tall. He was short, so short that I would have to be careful not to trip over him. He was not particularly athletic, wore glasses, and was carrying what appeared to be a book by my favorite author. I instantly liked him.

I went back to my book as the boys feet stopped moving. I caught a glimpse of a pale back. His hair was a deep brown, chestnut almost. It had a messy, almost tousled quality to it. He stuck his head through the portal in the glass, moving in a way that he wouldn't hit his head. The way he moved was fascinating. It made me want to know more about him.

"You havent seen this book, huh?"

I was pulled from my thoughts.

"What?" I asked.

"Dresden Files. That's a good one."

He said the name of my favorite book series and it sent a shiver down my spine. I looked up at him, wondering, how well did he know my favorite book series?

"Oh," I said, "yeah. It's a good book. What got you here?"

"Ah, nothing really. Just a walk."

My eyes widened in surprise and he must have caught it.

"No, not for me. For someone else. Just a walk. You should try it some time."

He was being very nice, and I liked it. I just nodded.

"I'll keep that in mind."

He nodded back, standing there.

"Thanks for the tip."

I nodded, wondering how big of an idiot I would look. Did I just utter a huge compliment? Would moving, literally, was my way of the double compliment?

"Okay, well, I'd better get to class. Well, and practice."

He turned and swung a double-handed jump. When he hit the ground, he was already moving as he jumped. I wondered how he could move so fluidly and forever with such little movement. I wondered how I could get my body to move like that.

I watched the boy out of the corner of my eye, getting up to write down the title of his book. I caught a distinctive whiff of cologne as I sat back down and started writing. I was surprised that there were so many little things that were different about him right off the bat. It made me wonder how much more I could discover about him.

As the day dragged on, I found myself looking at the library for an escape from the couple next to me who were arguing about something very important but completely trivial. It was annoying, and I had discovered that there wasn't much to do once you were done with classes. Sure, there were a few coffee shops left open, but they were busy most of the time and they were expensive. I had picked up some new gaming books at the campus bookstore, and I was determined to start my homework, but I was so busy trying to find something to do, I never got around to it. I just let my brain wander.

The cafeteria had a bar that served food, but I never felt like eating anything. For one, I was pretty tired after class. I was just about to go to sleep when I ran into the boy again. He was coming out of the building and I couldn't seem to leave.

"Hey."

He stopped again, and I repeated myself.

"Hey."

He turned and looked at me. He smiled. He had a nice smile, but it was not an overly friendly smile. It was a nice friendly but not smile. I thought he had a very cute smile, but I was fairly certain he had no idea what it looked like on him.

"How're you doing?"

"Okay."

"Busy?"

"Ah… a bit."

"No, I mean real busy. This?"

"Well, I don't know, really. I'm just doing my homework and looking for a place to go at night. You?"

"Well, I'm pretty busy. I've got a lot due in all my classes. Work has been pretty rough, too. Would you like to get some coffee?"

I was both surprised and ecstatic. I said yes, of course, and he told me to meet him in thirty minutes at the coffee shop. I spent time trying to figure out what to wear, not having to think about this since I was always with Tim. I was not very good at dressing nice. I had earlier spent time trying to figure out what to say, but I was already late so I just put on some clothes and raced into my closet.

I didn't know what to wear. I had one hell of a time picking out some pants. I finally settled on skinny jeans. I was pretty tired, so I decided that I didn't need to find a lot of makeup, just put everything on with a little mascara and lipstick. I can't do too much in 30 minutes, so I marched out the door and picked up the guy, who was waiting outside the front door.

We walked the mile to the coffee shop in silence. There were not a lot of people out, but he told me he owned the place.


img src

Sort:  

Congratulations @artureinseberg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi artureinseberg,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.