Freezedried Cottage Cheese

in #freezedry7 years ago

Cottage Cheese was on special, so I decided to try it.  I use alot when making up casseroles.  Also, will be good for the lunch and back pack meals I want to make.  I will be concntrating on making freeze dried items specifically for dietary preferences, as well as dietary necessity due to illness.  Not to mention, the baby food, elder diet, and smoothie requests I have received from being the owner of a freezedry machine.  I will be busy!  And I am saving for the larger machine for sure.  It is on sale at Harvest Right so I have put the down payment to hold the sale price.  

The cottage cheese is nice and creamy and shiny while hydrated.  After about 40 hours in the freezedrier, it comes out flaky and dry and dull.  It can be left in large pieces, chunked up, crumble up, or powdered up until rehydrated for consumption.

I I will be storing most of this batch, minus 2 cups to try out in some recipes :)