Friday 13th, The Day That Changed My Life forever!

in #friday13th8 years ago

Over the years, one quality I found you need to be successful in life is gratefulness. For many years in my life I took things for granted, and never took the time to look at what I had in my life.

It was Friday 13th 2004. We were in the hospital because my wife had been diagnosed with cervical cancer. They ran a few tests and then we made arrangements to come back in two days for an operation. As we were leaving, a nurse ran over to us and told us to wait.

It was then she told us we were pregnant.

My wife knew it may be a difficult birth due to the problems she had when our son was born. However, when we found out she was pregnant, not only did we decide to go ahead and have the baby, but we put off the operation until after the baby was born. 

Giving birth to our daughter was much easier and faster than our first child! I stood there in the hospital room with my new born baby in my arms truly amazed at her beauty and how calm she was. Now I know most new born babies are always beautiful to the parents, but even the nurses and doctors were amazed at her beauty.

Thirty minutes after the birth, my wife began haemorrhaging from the uterus. I mean BIG time. In just ten minutes she lost over 4 pints of blood. Doctors, Sisters and other hospital staff were running around like crazy. It was total mayhem.

I looked at my wife, with horror in my eyes. She turned to me and told me to tell the children, she will always love them, no matter what happens. I think for a moment, we both thought she was going to die.

I was totally confused. I had problems trying to figure out my emotions at the time. There I was full of incredible joy and happiness holding my new born daughter, and within a few minutes, faced with the fact I could see my wife die before me.

Two hours later the Doctors came to me and said my wife was in intensive care and under heavy sedation. It would be 24 hours before we would know anymore.

To cut a long story short, my wife pulled through. It took over two years for her to get back to normal, and two months after the birth of our daughter, she had the operation to remove the cancer.

This emotional event was the catalyst for me to become a stay at home Dad. I had started a part time online business 18 months before and during the pregnancy, I worked hard every single day on my business.

When my daughter was born, I was able to close a construction business I had, and work full time from home with my online business.

That was 12 years ago and since then:-

I get to see my children every single day. 

Every time I look at them I am grateful.

Grateful that I have two beautiful children.

Grateful that my wife was not taken from me.

Grateful that the cancer has gone.

Grateful that I can look back and know what it was that gave me that extra piece to my life's puzzle, and helped me to become who I am today.

Sometimes it can take a situation like that to make us realize what we already have in life. Don't wait for something bad to happen to you before you can be grateful for everything you already have.

Be grateful each day and give thanks for all the good things in your life. 

Gary J Kidd

Sort:  

Congratulations @smarit! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @smarit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!