Ever wanted to make new friends and influence people?

in #friends7 years ago (edited)

Well your far from alone, I’ve been interested in optimizing my ability to connect positively with new people I meet, on my journey I read countless books including:

"How to Win Friends and Influence People” By Dale Carnegie.


This is my key takeaway from this book:

Why should you do this?


For me this is a highly valuable ability, I would love to be able to connect and befriend anyone I fancy.
You can also use it to make people more inclined to listen to you and do you favors.

What to do?


The next time you meet someone new, make a conscious effort to smile at them as you’re shaking hands. This will greatly increase your chances to make a good first impression, and as everyone knows, first impressions count for a lot.

What NOT to do?


NEVER criticize others openly!
Many successful individuals actually made it a habit to never openly criticize others. Benjamin Franklin, for instance, claimed that the secret of his success was to “speak ill of no man.”

How to do it?


Make sure to: Look them in the eyes, smile, listen and show your appreciation for them.
Personally, I also really focus on remembering the names of people I meet, it might be hard for some, but it’s always worth your effort and will help you build a stronger foundation.

If you would like to see more like this I would love to share my notes with you. 😊
Want to help me continue? Please upvote and follow me. ❤

If you want to read the full book yourself here it is: http://amzn.to/2rmZp1h

Enjoyed the article?

Donate a cup of coffee:
Bitcoin (BTC): 1KqK5B2WuAz8vFCcDHG3indS2LmhYDvnUU
Ether (ETH): 0x0Ef565E2beb26669ec1335a5b54Fc0f7A2A25159

All donations really do help out a lot and I really appreciate it! <3

Sort:  

That's a excellent book. I read it years ago already, but it's always good read it again.

Thanks for the comment Jocra. :-D
Yes, it's a great book, I just wanted to take the key points I got from reading it and share it with others.