Are you friends with a PSYCHOPATH? Get out NOW!

in #friendship7 years ago

devil-angel-28660672.jpg
Are you friends with a psychopath? Get out of that relationship ASAP!

When folks just accept friends to be whomever they are….that is a kind and generous way to be. However, sometimes that openness bites back and you find yourself in a whirlwind of confusion and isolation and don’t have any idea what happened. You may have just been in a relationship with a psychopath. I mean any kind of relationship….for me it was a friend….a galpal. I thought she came on a bit strong, but I was OK with that….she was so upset about a recent friendship that had dissolved…yep that was the first clue. She was treated so poorly and claimed to do everything right and she was the victim and yep….2nd clue. If this has ever happened to you..forgive yourself…these psychopaths are very good at manipulation and if you don’t see it coming, well why would you…you are thinking this is fun…a new friend.

Some have said this is like high school….and I say, I didn’t go through any of this in high school…I had wonderful friends and our whole class really cared about each other and we all accepted each other for our differences. Really! It was great! I know, ….I was lucky!

Recently, I went through a very difficult time with a so called friend, trying to do the right thing. I was always stressed and just thought I could keep trying. If I didn’t answer her text within 5 minutes I got all kinds of texts asking what is wrong….what happened….call me. So I did try harder. I look back and I am embarrassed that I never saw that this person was just plain nuts! She seemed OK…I did have concerns, but I kept defending her in my mind, for all kinds of reasons. She was fun, but not always and I just kept giving her the benefit of the doubt. Now she has the whole group of women who previously were friends of mine looking at me like I stole their husbands or their kids or I don’t even know what they are thinking. It is frustrating…. as how do you defend a position that you are not accused of? I have decided to give up…eventually the psychopath in this situation will show her true colors and she will proceed to burn yet another bridge in her life of losing friend after friend.

If you are stressed over and over by a friend or anyone….leave, run, get out…or as Paul Simon sang…

You just slip out the back, Jack
Make a new plan, Stan
You don't need to be coy, Roy
Just get yourself free
Hop on the bus, Gus
You don't need to discuss much
Just drop off the key, Lee
And get yourself free (source:http://www.lyricsfreak.com/p/paul+simon/50+ways+to+leave+your+lover_20105950.html)
Paul-Simon-Sowngwriter.jpeg

Don’t beat yourself up….if you think you may be in a relationship with a psychopath read the following info to tell :

HOW TO SPOT A PSYCHOPATH: FROM CHARM TO MANIPULATION Psychopaths display different traits depending on their disorder, but common signs include superficial charm, a grandiose notion of self-worth, the need for stimulation and impulsiveness, pathological lying, the ability to manipulate others and a lack of remorse and empathy.
Experts claim people usually find psychopaths intriguing, but can’t put their finger on why.
This is down to incongruous behaviour because psychopaths tend to do a lot of acting to deceive, or mimic normal reactions, sometimes changing their views and reactions quickly.
For example, Mr Wells said upon meeting someone, he tries to become 'the most interesting person they know' and presumably adopts suitable interests and responses to do this.
His response also gives away another common trait - a grandiose notion of self-worth - in that he can be the most interesting person in the room.
Psychopaths occasionally tend to exhibit unconvincing emotional responses, with slip-ups including tone of voice or body language.
They will also offer to do favours and tell false secrets to people to gain their complete trust
This may be because they are unable to understand emotions such as fear and love, but can mimic them.
Generally psychopaths' 'emotions' are shallow and short-lived and there is a manipulative ulterior motive to showing them.
For example, Mr Wells said he offers to do favours and tells false secrets to people to gain their complete trust.
He also displays insincere charm - another trait associated with psychopaths.
He says: ‘I keep secrets, and tell them fake secrets to further gain their trust, and once they trust me enough, I ask for favours, reminding them of the favours I did them. I can get literally anything from them, which is incredibly useful.'
Psychopaths typically display an incredible ability to manipulate others and sometimes take pleasure in doing so.
Psychopaths often have an air of superiority about them, perhaps shown by Mr Wells' belief he can spot other psychopaths
Even expert Dr Hare warns that anyone can be duped during a short interaction with a psychopath.
SOURCE:http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3379996/How-spot-psychopath-Expert-reveals-traits-look-charm-eccentricity-manipulation.html#ixzz4kj2TRAJJ
See also http://www.decision-making-confidence.com/hare-psychopathy-checklist.html

So…best wishes and get on that bus! Take care, by the way, this post has really been cathartic to write. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted and I feel free! Thanks Steemit folks! … Amelia
source for cartoon at top (source:https://thumbs.dreamstime.com/b/devil-angel-28660672(.jpg)

Sort:  

Love this post
Thank You for sharing this amazing post with us

Wow...thank you! Much appreciated!