The fruit you might not know!

in #fruits6 years ago (edited)

Everybody loves fruits. And all the fruit lovers always wanted to taste new fruit. Also fruits are really a great source of  important vitamins, minerals and plant chemicals. 




Yes guys I am talking about Jackfruit. It's a really delicious fruit. It's scientific name is  Artocarpus heterophyllus. It's originating in Southwest Indian.  Jackfruit is commonly used in South and Southeast Asian cuisines.  The jackfruit tree is a widely cultivated and popular food item throughout the tropical regions of the world. It is the national fruit of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and state fruit of Indian states Kerala and Tamil Nadu. Kerala is the largest producer of Jackfruit.


 

 Ripe jackfruit is naturally sweet, with subtle flavoring. You can make a  variety of dishes with ripe jackfruit like  custards, cakes, etc. In some countries unripe jackfruit used in curry. It's seeds are also edible.  In southern India, unripe jackfruit slices are deep fried to make chips.  Jackfruit has a distinctive sweet and fruity aroma. 


 The flesh of the jackfruit is starchy and fibrous and is a source of dietary fiber. The pulp is composed of 74% water, 23% carbohydrates, 2% protein, and 1% fat. In a 100-g portion, raw jackfruit provides 400 kJ (95 kcal) and is a rich source (20% or more of the Daily Value, DV) of vitamin B6 (25% DV). It contains moderate levels (10-19% DV) of vitamin C and potassium, with no other nutrients in significant content. 


It has a unusual flower. It looks like a smaller version of jackfruit. In Bangladesh people also eat the flower as a snack.



You can find jackfruit in Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Brazil,  Thailand,  Nepal, Africa, etc country.




So if you like my post then please upvote, comment and follow me. It will be a great help for me to grow.


Some of the information has been taken from here    

Sort:  

I am always amazed by how big they can get!

I actually have one jackfruit laying on my kitchen counter right now, ripe and ready to be opened. We found it in a tree along the streets of Kuala Lumpur and since I had some bad experiences with those before (were inhabited by little worms) I hope this time I will have more luck 😉

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackfruit