FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY | Kale and Beetroot Salad with Tahini Dressing

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

There seems to be a running theme this week of using what you've got left in the fridge. It's no different in our household, especially now that I am trying to use up everything we've got before travelling. We had a BBQ with friends a few weeks back and we still have so much pita bread. So in order to eat that, I am making some form of stir fried veggies, salad or dressing to go with it, and I am trying to keep it exciting. There is only so much pita bread one can eat.

With our vegetable box we get every week, there were some new seasonal goodies in there such as fresh beetroot, kale and pepper. So for yesterday's lunch, I made the following. It is super easy (I think) and it is so quick to make, either in advance for lunches or on the spot like I often do (having the luxury of working from home).

What you need for 2 people


  • a bunch of kale
  • 1 beetroot
  • 2 small peppers (1 large)
  • 1-2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • something to steam and a grater

For the dressing

  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • salt and pepper

Here's the how


Remove the kale leaves from the stalks and chop them roughly. Then add it to the steamer and steam for about 5 minutes (or until you can see that the leaves are getting soft).

In the meantime, add the sesame seeds to a pan on a medium heat to roast them. Once they start popping and jumping out of the pan, turn off the heat.

Chop the pepper in small pieces and cut the ends off of the beetroot. If you prefer to peel the beetroot, go ahead. I usually clean root vegetables with a brush only. Grate the beetroot or put it in a wonder machine that does it for you, like I did (5 seconds and done).

Add all the veg into a bowl.

Prepare the dressing by adding everything to a small bowl or jar/glass and stir it so it is all mixed together. This might take a little bit, if the tahini is quite firm.

Mix it all together, sprinkle some sesame seeds over, add a pita bread and tuck in!

This post is part of the #fruitsandveggiesmonday created by @lenasveganliving

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-14T15:16:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Jayzus! This looks like the most nutritious and beautiful salad I’ve ever seen. I’m so impressed with everyone’s entry in #fruitandveggiesmonday. All of you are such an inspiration for me to step up my game.

Great entry and great use of left overs! Everything looks delish.

I think as long as you like the ingredients and you have fun, it'll taste even better combined :-)

@isapisa what a nutritious meal! Although we are now homesteading while I was still in the city we also received our bi-weekly veggie box. And what a treat! We never knew what would arrive. It looks like you had a delicious selection

Oh I love not knowing what will arrive and then getting creative with the things you have. Over the years I learned so much about fruits and veg I had never seen or cooked with before.

That's wonderful @isapisa. It really makes for exciting eating

I can eat salad like this any day. So colorful, sweet, sour and little bit spicy, just the way I like it. Truly awesome dressing that may go well for other salads too. And of course, stunning photography as always 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you

While I had to pick sesame seeds out of my teeth for the entire day, this was indeed one of the best salads I've had in a long time when @isapisa made this here at home :)

I'm a sucker for any type of tahini dressing! I'd probably be happy eating anything with it on top, but this salad looks delicious. I don't get a weekly box, but I do the same thing at the farmers market where I try to find a type of vegetable I haven't tried before. It is really fun to be exposed to new fresh fruits and veggies!

This looks so yummy, I'd have it any time! 😋 I have to try your tahini dressing, it's so simple but seems delicious!

Thank you for resteeming my #fruitsandveggiesmonday post, I truly appreciate it! 💙