Stock Up on Berries! ๐Ÿ“

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180802_124644.jpg

Hey guys, I hope you're having a lovely Monday!

Summer and early Autumn are time to take action. Itโ€™s the time to fill your freezer with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries lingonberries, currants, gooseberries, apple sauce, whatever you have in hand! Why? Simply because buying berries from the frozen section during winter can provide a hefty receipt at a cash desk. I know not everyone is as fortunate as we living in North Europe and having The Freedom to Roam (โ€œEverymanโ€™s Rightโ€). Iโ€™m not exactly sure how this right works in other countries, but in Finland youโ€™re allowed to go into the woods and collect berries for free, even without the permission from the land owner. Great, right?! So, if you have a chance to do this, I highly recommend using it, youโ€™ll thank me later!

mustikat.jpg

If you canโ€™t go to the woods and collect blueberries and lingonberries, go to your garden, or ask a friend/family member if you can have a part of their berries. Perhaps you can bake something for them in return. Itโ€™s also a great idea to go to the Farmersโ€™ Market and buy fresh, affordable berries, and freeze them for winter. Moreover, apple season is also about to start, and thereโ€™s an abundant of them everywhere (at least in the Northern countries), so make some apple sauce, bottle it, and place it into a freezer.

punaiset viinimarjat.jpg

mustat viinimarjat ja karviaiset.jpg

During winter, nothing feels better than using frozen berries youโ€™ve collected with your own hands. It certainly makes all the baked goods, oats with berries, and smoothies to taste a lot nicer, once you know youโ€™ve put a lot of effort to them!


Usually I take part to #fruitsandveggiesmonday by sharing a recipe with you, but today I wanted to do something different! I want to encourage you to use local products, and do things yourself! I hope all of you, including the organizer of the contest @lenasveganliving, enjoyed this a little different post! ๐Ÿ˜Š


What have you stocked up on this year?๐Ÿ“


-Jasmin โค

Sort: ย 

What a lovely harvest! It would not even fit in my freezer! Looks like you'll have a summery winter this year ๐Ÿ˜‰

Haha, you should see my freezer at the end of summer, there's literally no room for anything else because it's so full of berries! ๐Ÿ˜… But it's great to have a piece of summer in the middle of winter! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I am pretty sure we could go to woods pick them here in Canada too, but usualy, we go to farms, but it's not free. Nevertheless, I love your beautiful photos of all these yummy berries. Well done my Dear ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‡
1 Collage.jpg

When I still was in High School, I spent a year in Canada as an exchange student. We also went to different farms to collect strawberries and apples! It was a nice activity to do with the family! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Really? It is so exciting to know that you've been here, wow! We were strawberry picking this year and raspberry picking last year and planing to go apple picking next month. Anyway, CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ˜Š Going apple picking was one really nice and memorable experience I had in Canada! I hope you'll have a great time there too next month! ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ

I am happy to hear that my Dear and thank you for sharing it with me ๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŽ๐ŸŒธ

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

OMG! Wild blueberries! I haven't seen those since I was a kid growing up in Poland which was a while agoโ€‹;) Shared your post and followed to hear more from you:)

Wild blueberries are so tasteful, right? It's great to bring you some old memories back! ๐Ÿ˜Š
Thank you so much for your lovely words, the share and for following, I truly appreciate it! ๐Ÿ’™

Those berries are stunning! And how awesome is that to be able to just go pick straight from nature right in the woods? Sad to say that is definitely not the case here, though at least we have plenty of local farms and patches to buy from. I am getting excited about apple season, too. The berries are pretty much done now, and I just savored one of the last fresh peaches this morning!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thank you @planstoplanks! ๐Ÿ˜Š Here the strawberries are pretty much done, but e.g. blueberries and currants still have some time left. I think it's great when people buy berries, fruits and vegetables directly from local farmers, that's the best way to support them! ๐Ÿ˜Š I'm also really looking forward to apple season, and I think Steemit will be full of delicious apple recipes to try! ๐Ÿ˜‹ Oh, and one more thing I have to mention, I'd love to have fresh peaches from the garden as well, they're so juicy and delicious! Unfortunately we don't grow peaches here in Finland but in the past I've had the opportunity to savor them in South Europe! ๐Ÿ˜Š

These photos are absolutely gorgeous! Making me salivate too ;)

Thank you @annehussain, that's one of the best compliments you can give! ๐Ÿ˜Š

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hi @jasmink) Excellent berries! A few weeks ago, I promised to make a video with squirrel:)
You can see it here: https://steemit.com/life/@dponbl4/feeding-squirrel-from-hands-video

Hey @dponbl4! You remebered, that's so sweet, thank you! :)

You are welcome! :)

Aww, those colors make we want to jump right into the forest and start collecting my own batch of berries! I especially like gooseberries, but maybe that just because I get to eat them very rarely.

Berries are pretty much the only thing I miss about Europe right now, crazy raw vegans, right? ๐Ÿ˜„

Gooseberries are so gooood! I always eat too much of them at once and end up with a stomach ache... But it's totally worth it! ๐Ÿ˜…

I can understand you missing Europe for the berries, always when traveling we miss the flavors, and in this case berries, of home! And who doesn't love fresh berries? ๐Ÿ˜‹

Normally I had never such an abundance of gooseberries only just a few from some bushes, but I might behave in the same way ๐Ÿ˜‹

The grass is always greener on the other side โ˜บ๏ธ

Haha, it's always greener on the other side! ๐Ÿ˜

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ These berries looks delicious! You have a small typo, you wrote "The Freedom to Roar" ๐Ÿฆ๐Ÿฆ instead of "The Freedom to Roam" ๐Ÿ•๏ธ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks! Haha, how did I even make that typo ๐Ÿ˜‚ Thank you for pointing it out! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hehe no problem! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Gonna follow your blog ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‘Œ See you around!

Thank you, we'll see around! ๐Ÿ˜Š