FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY CHALLENGE - Farmers Market Journey!!!

Greetings my lovely Steemians around the world!

Fruitsandveggiesmonday is one of my most favorite challenge running on Steemit by the one and only @lenasveganliving! I really enjoy discovering so many entries each week where I get to see new fruits and vegetables that I've never seen before!

The only problem is that I have participated only once before and I already apologized to @lenasveganliving about that and I am sure she understand my position! The main reason is that I am really very busy with Steemit Iron Chef and also because I rarely post twice a day, this means less post for me so basically less contest too! But i will see very soon see if I can make 2 posts per day...well let's wait and see!

For now let's discover my second ever entry into fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge!


As I have said in many of my posts before, I am a great lover of farmers market! Normally I go to the farmers market at least once a week and it is mainly on Fridays that I go there!
The last time I went, I did not forget to bring my camera along and managed to take some pics before my hands were blocked with the bags!Lol!

Enjoy the small journey!

DSC_0092.JPG

The above photo is inside the market.
I love that ambiance!


DSC_0119.JPG

The red peppers were of top quality that day...but do you know how expensive they are in Mauritius!? Well I don't have any idea about other countries of the world, but these ones were $1 - $1.5 each!


DSC_0076.JPG

The green beans were looking lovely and affordable too! Less than $0.5 half kilo!


DSC_0086.JPG

In Mauritian cuisine we use a lot of garlic!
Garlic really add special taste to your dish! Did you know that each different way you cut a garlic gives you a different taste!?
Finely chopped, coarsely chopped, sliced, whole, halves... each one gives you a different taste...try it and you'll notice it!


DSC_0105.JPG

I was so happy to finally find some local cauliflowers on the stalls! They were not the best of qualities, but we all know local is always the best!


DSC_0109.JPG

Fresh corns were still available in the market!
I normally buy 5 pieces which is more than enough for us at home! The 5 pieces cost me around $2.


DSC_0124.JPG

One of my most favorite vegetables in the world!
I love bottle gourd so much that I can eat it everyday! They can be quite expensive some time reaching $2.5 each!


And I will end the post with these lovely grapes...well they are not local as we don't have it in Mauritius!

These are imported from South Africa!

DSC_0127.JPG


So here you are with my little journey in the farmers market, I could not take more photos, as both my hands were carrying heavy bags of vegetables!Lol!

I would like to thank @lenasveganliving for putting this challenge up and giving me the opportunity to share these photos with you all!

I really hope you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to your comments!

@progressivechef

Sort:  

Hi Bro.... It's so nice to see the fresh vegetables.... So many varieties... Even though Mouritius is a small Island, you are getting everything there...!!

In terms of vegetables we are nearly self sufficient sister, it is mainly fruits that we import as we don't have the plants growing here!

Welcome Dear @progressivechef, what a lovely surprise. Thank you so much for enlightening us with your fabulous entry, full of freshness and color.

I am especially intrigued with your favorite bottle gourd. I never tried this vegetable and I am not even sure if I ever seen it. However, I will look for it in the supermarket next time and if they will not have it in our local store, then I am sure I will find it in one of our Asian markets.

Restemed, but my my voting power is very low so I am sending a tip! instead. Have a wonderful week CHEF 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Oh thanks so much for approving my friend! I just love farmers market, i get so many new ideas on creating new dishes there!

Bottle gourds are really very nice my friend. But you must taste it first before cooking. Sometimes it is bitter and you just have to throw it away as it is toxic too.
But when you have the good one, simply sauteed with some garlic and onion...hmmm smooth like butter!
Making gratin with them are also very tasty!
I hope you get it some day!

Oh I see, I guess this bottle gourd is a tricky one lol.

My pleasure @progressivechef and I am looking forward to see your creation...........you know I am learning a lot from you 🌸💖🌸

still a beautiful time of year for farmer's markets, i'll be going to one in Oneida Nation, WI this Thursday (-: peace

Here in Mauritius everyday is a beautiful day at the farmers market! The weather is amazing here mate!
Hope you have a great time there!

Mauritius? wow, fascinating

Looks so fresh.

Really very fresh man! Thanks for stopping by!

I am pretty sure we also have a farmers market here in Berlin. I should visit that sometime. Haha.

Also, I love grapes :D

Farmers markets are such a nice place my friend...you get a lot of food too! I would love to discover the one at your place through your lens!
You are same as my daughter, she loves grapes!

Me too! Might check it out this weekend!

Everything is so fresh and looks so alive!

I'm so glad to see you here despite that you are so busy my friend!

I needed my Steemit fix :)

though pricy still cheaper than in my country Denmark... and then it is not fresh farmer market it is bad quality supermarket import lol ... to get the really top notch it goes way high up there ...

Oh really my friend!? Oh now I know you are from Denmark! You know Rene Redzepi and Noma restaurant then? You are so lucky my friend!

Great trip to the market!! I love farmers markets!!

Thanks so much for stopping by my friend!
Farmers markets are the best place to be!

Agreed!! I especially love it if I find something I have never eaten and get to experience new things.

Lovely pictures there. Mauritius is truly blessed with agricultural resources.
Agric is the mainstay and a good contributing factor to any nation's economy.
Here are some fruits and vegetables obtainable in Nigeria my country

nigeria market.jpg

Thanks so much @mickyscofield! Absolutely well said!
Glad that you shared the pic from your lovely country Nigeria!

I like to see markets in different countries.I can feel the food culture.It is a good post:D

I also love discovering other countries culture my friend! Thanks so much for your support!

Beaufitul bounty! I would love to try the bottle gourd, I've never seen that before!

I really hope you find it and try it out my friend, i'm sure you'll love it! It has a nice sweet taste and when cooked it is smooth like butter!

I wonder if they'll have it at an international supermarket near me. I'll check it out! What types of dishes do you cook with it? (or what vegetable is closest to it that I might know?)

You can do a lot of dishes with it actually, even desserts!! I can compare it a little to zucchini a little bit and pumpkin texture too!
I love it sauteed with onion and garlic or stewed on its own.

Oh awesome (so versatile!) I'll definitely see if they carry it at the market. :)

Really nice fruits and vegetables.. seems to be so fresh and natural (because nowadays everything seems to be plastic, ever carrots) I'm which part of the Universe is that.. don't say Earth! haha... Bon Apetit!
Voted.png

You are so right my friend, so many fake products on the market these days!
It is crazy what humans are selling to humans!
Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting my friend!

Looks lovely! Yes, SA has lots of grapes because of our huge wine industry.

The cauliflower looks great!

We actually import a lot of products from SA! Most of our fruits and meats are from there only!
I love SA beef btw!

Gorgeous, vibrant food. How could you not be full of joy?
I would be skipping through the isles. LOL!

Thanks so much for the support and wonderful comments as usual my friend!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.28 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.