You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fulltimegeek Talks About The Responsibilities Of A Steem Witness

in #fulltimegeek6 years ago

I totally understand your point, but I still disagree. There are witnesses in the top 20 that I'd rather see at a different position. I know a handful of witnesses I'd rather put in the top 20 than some of the existing witnesses.

FTG for instance, belongs in the top 20 without a doubt, but that's just my opinion.

Sort:  

In my mind, that is a different point entirely, but I agree with that. Here's a couple of points:

  1. A witness' JOB ONE is to reliably produce blocks. One every MINUTE. (3 sec x 20 = 60 seconds, then it's your turn again!)
  2. We need to look at the witness reliability record to determine if they "belong"... Some T20 are less stellar than others!
  3. FTG is a great Steemian, for sure. I'm sure a LOT of that translates over to being a great witness, but if one cannot crank out the blocks at the 1 per Minute rate, then a lower spot is better.

There is a learning curve and it's for a good reason, one can learn the hardware and software on an "As Needed Basis" because pretty much until you get like top 50 it's not very hardware intensive. I'm backing FTG as well, we have a good common friend that speaks highly of him...
FTG may be a good Top20 but I know our witness is capable, 35 years in IT and also a crack developer, hard to beat combo. On the 0.20.4 patch, she was activated before 80% of the top 20 and running smoothly. I have one of the top blockchain people in Steem on my TEEM
(lol) But we have to PROVE IT. Stay Tuned!

😎