You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky July 21

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

I own a 2001 Acura MDX. Last week I plug a tire inflater into the cigarette lighter slot and the inflater blew the fuse of the center console, I think. The entire center screen, radio/CD player, and the cigarette light socket stopped lighting up and will not turn on. It was all working perfectly fine before this incident. Please help me diagnosis and fix the issue.

5E03F635-FCBA-415B-AEA8-D2ABF5C92B5F.jpeg

Sort:  

Go to the owners manual to find the fuse box. The owners manual will tell you which fuse is for the radio and the cigarette lighter. A blown fuse will look like the left image.
6AA71043-F064-4AD1-8520-0A53F73E1C54.jpeg
The fuse box will have different color fuses. Pull the blown fuse and replace it with the same color fuse.

This sounds easy enough. I will give it a shot and let you know how it turns out. Thanks for the advice.